Food Journal Photo Challenge: Tuesday

 Tuesday morning’s cardio was on the elliptical. I kept my heartrate in the 150-160 range, but I don’t know if it was due to actual exertion or from holding my breath to protect myself from some nasty morning breath on my elliptical neighbor. Seriously… I should NOT have been able to smell that.

I wasn’t able to blog earlier and am now running short on time, so total calorie counts are at the end of the post. Major, major thanks to Krissie at QuestionsforDessert for this fun and thoughtful challenge. Admittedly, this has been more time consuming than I expected, so I probably will not continue it on a daily basis, but I will do it on those days when I’m tempted to graze. I think it’s a great way to keep your food consumption in check.

33091

1. (7:30am) Breakfast. Oat Bran “Custard.” Oat bran, egg substitute, banana, flaxseed, milk, cinnamon and Splenda brown sugar. Also, a return of my Trader Joe’s coffee with a splash of Land O’Lakes Lowfat Half and Half. The oat bran custard is a new “recipe” I attempted. And by recipe, I mean, I heard someone say oat bran custard and was too lazy to look up a recipe so I tried it on my own. It will still take some perfecting to get the texture right–I think I didn’t use enough egg–but the flavors were spot-on.

(10:30am) Snack. Double tall nonfat latte and a 100 calorie chocolate berry South Beach Bar. I photographed this with my cell phone, but it seems to have disappeared.

2, 3, 4 & 5. (Noon) Lunch. 3oz grilled chicken breast, 7 cherry tomatoes, veggie soup w/2 tsp parmesan cheese, a couple bites of this new polenta mushroom dish at the cafeteria. Finally, 2 slices Healthy Life low carb toast with 1 TBS peanut butter. This soup was so good, I could have eaten 5 bowls of it. I’m actually going to contact the dining hall manager so I can get the recipe.

7. (3:30pm) Snack. Kashi bar. In the past I’ve found their bars to be so chewy, my jaw tires before I can finish one bite. This oatmeal walnut flavor tempted me though. It was decent–not great, but decent.

8. (6:30pm) Dinner. Leftover Hungry Girl shrimp pad thai. Recipe will be posted by the end of the week. Garden salad w/a homemade mustard vinaigrette. If you haven’t already tried, you should really make your own dressings at home. You can easily make it with things you have on hand, (including making creamy dressing with Greek yogurt) and what you make will likely be free of all the crazy preservatives and fillers you find in bottled dressings.

9. (8pm) Dessert: 1 c. apple slices microwaved with cinnamon and 2 tsp Splenda brown sugar, topped with 1 TBS toasted oatmeal and 1 TBS raw sliced almonds and 3 TBS Cool Whip Light. OMG–so good. Why didn’t I think of this sooner? I toasted the almonds and oats in the oven to bring out their amazing nutty- and oatty-ness. A day later, I’m still salivating over this dessert.

Daily Totals

  • 1746 calories
  • 66 g fat (31% of calories)
  • 201 g carbs (43% of calories)
  • 39 g of fiber–WOW!
  • 123 g of protein (26% of calories)

2 responses to “Food Journal Photo Challenge: Tuesday

  1. Those roll bars look interesting! I actually have never seen them before. -lol-

  2. Your dessert is definitely slobber worthy. :-) That looks quite yummy!

Leave a Reply

