Resound 11, Prompt 13: Best Gift

#resound11 Prompt 13: Best Gift

Today’s prompt is brought to you by Krissie from Questions for Dessert and @krissieb.
The holiday season is typically a time we focus on others, sometimes at the expense of ourselves. I can get so caught up in the expectations of the season that I have a hard time remembering to enjoy the peace and wonder of the season. I can forget to take time to care for myself. So lets look back on how we cared for ourselves. Maybe we’ll inspire each other to take a few minutes for ourselves today.
What was the best gift you gave yourself this year? Did you buy big, fluffy towels? Did you have a massage on a day when you really needed it? Did you forgive someone and give yourself the freedom from that grudge?
How will you resound?
The best gift I gave myself is the permission to live in the moment. I know I’ve said this in past resound posts, but here’s the deal:
  • I found the career I am currently in when I wasn’t even looking to change careers. It’s brought me more financial security than my previous job (journalism), it better matches my personality and skills, it offers me some of the same things I love about journalism (learning, teaching and communicating) and it’s introduced me to so many great things, ideas, inspirations and people.
  • I found the job I’m currently in when I stumbled across it online. I always believe in keeping an eye out for job descriptions that sound interesting. In my previous job, I wasn’t happy and I had finished up a rather intense round of job searching (8 on-campus interviews in several different states over a 2-3 month period) and decided that what I wanted and needed wasn’t out there and I needed to wait a bit, hold off and recharge myself before going through such an intensive process again. Job interviews in my field generally entail a 30-60 minute phone interview and a 1-2 day on-campus interview. Then I saw the posting for this job and things just gradually fell into place, despite a variety of stops and starts in the 4.5 months between me seeing the posting and starting the position. Most importantly, every part of the job search process (even when I was told the search might be suspended) just felt right.
  • Although I joined eHarmony intended to start dating and meeting people in my new town, I never expected that I would fall in love with and end up marrying and having a baby with one of the first people I met in person from the site.
  • I always knew that I would experience the death of my grandparents, but when my grandfather was diagnosed with a slow-growing type of prostate cancer, I never expected his decline to go the way it did. I didn’t expect it would kill him and I didn’t realize how slow (yet fast) and difficult that process would be.
  • Charlie was the biggest surprise of my life. Especially with being on birth control pills to treat polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) and after being told multiple times that as someone with PCOS in my mid-30s, my baby making days were seriously numbered. When Charlie was conceived I had missed just one birth control pill which I had taken the following morning, doubling up as the directions tell you to do in order to maintain that 99-or-whatever percent success rate. Um, yeah….. talk about beating odds.
So those have continued to be my life lessons. The surprises have lent the most joy (in most cases) and learning (in other cases) in my life. My natural tendency is to plot and plan every moment of my day, my life, to live by numbers and statistics, to nervously calculate risk and take the safer of my options, to think/worry about or analyze/plan the future instead of appreciating and recognizing what I have in the present. Over time, I realize that I don’t always know what’s best for me–and that’s okay–and that sometimes a world I never imagined possible opens up to me just by me allowing myself to be open to the possibility of whatever this crazy, fantastic world has to offer.  So for all the planning I do, I’m okay if Plan B–whatever life has in store for me–is the plan that ends up getting implemented.
4 responses to “Resound 11, Prompt 13: Best Gift

  1. oh tina i love this. i want to start a blog again- healthy living, teaching, and cooking but i just can’t think of a good name. turns out “senoritagordita” is a new children’s book and i don’t need to be sued.

    thoughts?

    when can i see you/charlie again?

  2. The last paragraph is so true of me. I’m really trying to go with the flow and not plan every detail.

  3. You and I are alike in so many ways – I’m at my most comfortable when I’m planning, too. But then I realized along the way that I might miss out on the here and now by always looking too far into the future with my plans for tomorrow. I’m glad you were able to appreciate the present a bit more. I’m working on that one, too.

  4. Glad you found your dream job :D
    Hey sorry to hear about your diagnosis… 1200 cals a day ISNT much at all! Have you considered a regime of weight training and having a high protien diet? I’m on a fat loss journey myself and am almost at my goal – notice I didn’t say “weight”. I’m careful to build muscle but burn fat at the same time. More muscle means I can eat more ;D

Leave a Reply

