Happy 2012! Happy Lent!

I had every intention of getting back to minimal, yet regular, blogging (say, once a week) once the holidays were over. And then the germs hit. Charlie, Evan and I all got colds and sinus infections in January, then we all had norovirus in early February, followed by colds again for Charlie and me. It gave me a lot of reason to complain throughout the first 6 weeks of the year. Do you know how puke-phobic I am? And how much I had to detach that phobia as my child puked and dry heaved on me a grand total of 7 times over the course of a few hours. Poor, poor kid!

Aside from that, here’s what I’ve been up to:

1. Reading The Happiness Project and integrating it into my own life.

2. Taking on a work-related “motivation” project to get back into publishing (professional newsletters, magazines and other publications).

3. Reducing my TV and online time and increasing my reading time. I hope to read 12 fun books and 6 work books this year.

4. Enjoying the heck out of this little bugger who continues to astound me with his curiosity, positive attitude and development. And his cuteness.

So I’ve decided to take advantage of all of this positive energy and take it a step further:

NO NEGATIVE ENERGY LENT!

I toyed with the idea of avoiding negative energy during Lent, but that’s not possible nor is it helpful. The point of this project is to focus on developing and maintaining my own optimism, energy and happiness.

I know I can totally be a sponge around negative energy, absorbing it and taking it on as my own misery. So it’s important that I don’t avoid negative energy during this project, otherwise, when the 40 days are up and I reintroduce myself to life, I’ll be back where I started. Furthermore, it’s not realistic. Am I just supposed to walk out of a meeting at work, if folks are complaining about something. Yeah, THAT would go over well!

So, here’s the plan:

I’ve announced my no negative Lent plan to colleagues,Evan, Twitter and Facebook. They will help me hold myself accountable.

I will continue to develop and fulfill my Happiness Project.

I will take time to reframe issues or incidents when I’m starting to feel pulled into negativity. So instead of thinking “Dammit… I have to go to another nighttime event tonight for work and drag Charlie out past his bedtime and leave the warm comfy house” I replaced it with “I’m so lucky to have a flexible social kid who can be exhausted yet still enjoy these outings and it was fun to hang out and connect with students and staff.” Both those statements were true, so why not focus on the positive one. Did it still suck that I couldn’t be in my pjs watching Jeopardy at 7 and then couch surf the rest of the night? Yes. But did I get something out of it? Absolutely.

So that’s my plan. What, if anything, are you doing for Lent??

 

 

3 responses to “Happy 2012! Happy Lent!

  1. I love the idea of No Negativity Lent. Love it! I’ve given up Twitter and Facebook. It already sucks.

  2. I’m so happy that you’re back to blogging! Missed you. Plus, you always offer such great comments on my blog, and I’ve been wanting to reciprocate.

    I love your Lenten goal. Mine, as you know, is to give up my excuses (why I can’t workout, stick to plan, etc). So far so good!

  3. I am participating in the IC Healthy Me Challenge, http://ithaca.edu/hr/benefits/wrklife/icahealthyme/
    I have my pedometer and am trying to walk 10,000 steps most days. Leo thinks I look funny at night, walking laps in our room while I’m reading to try and get my steps in.

Leave a Reply

