Blogger Interview Time!

 Setting up my very own blog was a New Year’s Resolution for me, but it was a bit surprising to find myself so connected with this larger virtual community. Starting out is kinda like being the new kid at school halfway into the school year–you know that everyone else has friends and their own little peer group, yet you wonder when and if you’ll ever fit in.

Of course, it’s no small surprise that here I am, a month later, being interviewed by other bloggers. I also have to admit that no one else took Sweetie up on her interview offer. I guess they’re a little shy…

So, here it is: my first blogger interview. If you too are interested in being interviewed, this time by me, let me know in the comments section. Instructions are below.
1. When and why did you start blogging?
 
My family, boyfriend and friends are going to be surprised by this, but I guess you’re outing me now, Sweetie. I secretly started blogging a year and a half ago on a “secret weight loss blogger site” as my online friends there call it. I really just did it as a private online journal for myself, but the response I got and the support group it created was just incredible.
 
For about a year now, I’ve been toying with the idea of writing a weight loss memoir, and I also started thinking that I’m ready to share more of my life with friends and family–especially since I don’t get to see many of them on a regular basis. I have a passion for cooking/good food, I love writing and I kinda think I can be funny, so I decided to start a blog and be a little more public about my experiences. It forces me–in a good way–to make writing a habit.  

2. What has pleasantly surprised you the most about your blogging experience?
 
The support and sense of community. I know people whom I’d call friends in South Carolina, Tennessee, London, Iceland, etc. We all cheer each other on and give each other heartfelt pep talks when times are tough. I think this is why when I had back surgery last year and spent most of the year out of the gym and laying on the sofa, I was able to maintain my weight. In part, it was because I was accountable to these people, and I wanted to prove that you can survive a year with an injury and ensure that it doesn’t result in a landslide weight gain.

3. If you could only take 3 foods along for the old hypothetical week on a desert island, what would they be and why would you choose them?
 
I’m assuming the island is already loaded with decent water, since you specifically asked about foods, right? In that case, I’d bring Skippy Natural Peanut Butter, oatmeal or oat bran and strawberries. My boyfriend makes fun of me because there’s a pint of strawberries in my fridge nearly every week. They make a great dessert, snack or breakfast and provide a nice sweet touch for just 7 calories for a large berry. Oatmeal is quickly becoming my go-to food. I like turning it into flour for a healthy baking substitute, eating it for breakfast, and using it for “breading” on chicken, fish or pork. The Skippy Natural Peanut butter is a must have because it tastes amazing, doesn’t require stirring and has all-natural ingredients (peanuts, salt, sugar and palm oil). It provides a little protein and a good dose of healthy fats.  

4. What is your favorite thing to do that does not involve food or blogging?
 
Going to concerts! I’ve always loved live music, but never got to experience much of it until I moved to NJ two years ago. Last year, my New Year’s Resolution was to take better advantage of the area and attend 12 concerts that year. I beat my goal and ended up seeing: Ani Difranco, Third Eye Blind, Mae (with Honorary Title), Feist, Kanye West (with N.E.R.D., Lupe Fiasco & Rhiannon), Dave Matthews Band, Tegan & Sara (with An Horse), Death Cab for Cutie (with Rogue Wave), REM (with The National, Modest Mouse, and a surprise performance by Eddie Vedder!), Coldplay (with Duffy), Ben Folds, Bloc Party, Radiohead and a local music festival put on by WXPN, my favorite radio station around here. We were hoping to continue the concert-going tradition this year, but unfortunately, bad economy = bands less likely to tour. Of course, we are very excited to have 8th row seats for the Death Cab for Cutie & Ra Ra Riot show at the Tower Theater in April.

5. What is your favorite dish to prepare?
 
Gosh–these questions are so hard! I like dishes that require chopping vegetables. I find that to be really soothing, which is funny because I had a job chopping veggies in my College dining hall, and I was uber-anxious about chopping my fingers off. I quickly quit that job for a work study gig filing health insurance paperwork, which resulted in many, many papercuts.

My skills have improved since then. I think my favorite dish to make is the Butternut Squash soup recipe that my friend Jenny gave me years ago. It was meant to be a normal squash, cannellini beans and some other veg in chicken broth soup, with a touch of cumin and topped with crispy bacon and toasted pumpkin seeds, but I decided to puree it with my stick blender and ended up with this creamy, comforting soup that had a completely different personality than the original recipe. Anything that gets topped with crispy bacon is probably good.

Yummy soup, served with grape tomatoes and an Arnold's sandwich thin topped with Laughing Cow cheese.

Yummy soup, served with grape tomatoes and an Arnold's sandwich thin topped with Laughing Cow cheese.

So, there you go–that’s my interview. Wanna play along?

  1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”  If a few people want interviews, I will randomly pick 2.
  2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. (I get to pick the questions).
  3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
  4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview others in the same post.
  5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

Easy right? Please do it. I’d hate to be the one to ruin the chain of interviews 🙂

4 responses to “Blogger Interview Time!

  1. interveiw me 🙂

    love ur blog by the way. x

  2. Wow, love your answers! Such a great interview! And mmmm, peanut butter! And go strawberries! Yum!!!!!

  3. Do you have a blog, Stef? What’s the web address?

  4. Awesome job!! I would survive well on your island! Your foods sound much like my usual breakfast fare. Yum! Plus, the strawberries would prevent scurvy. Win win! 🙂

Leave a Reply

