The plan for the week.

I’ve been out of blog-land for awhile due to the glorious weather we’ve been experiencing. After Monday’s mini-spring-blizzard, it was nice to have weather in the 70s this weekend.
Saturday was a damn-near perfect day:
  • slept in after staying up til 2am or so seeing The Watchmen with my boyfriend and friends
  • had my first iced nonfat latte of the season–yum!
  • went to the gym
  • found out a friend was in town, so I met her for dinner and then we went to cheer on the Philly Roller Girls. Happened to find cheap parking near a Trader Joe’s, so I stocked up on some nuts, but was sad that I couldn’t find their new gummi multivitamins for adults
Sunday the weather was equally beautiful so I opened up the windows to air out the house and Evan and I went for a walk around campus before he had to leave for work. Our campus has a 1.8 mile loop that takes us past a bamboo forest and two lakes. We explored the bamboo forest a bit to find an old wingback chair perched against a huge fallen tree. It looked like the set for some high-end fashion shoot. I could just imagine some pretty girl lounging over the chair in a frilly dress with teased hair and glamorous smoky eye make-up.
 
Despite the beauty of the weekend, I have to admit, I feel a bit melancholy about my weight loss today. I’m not where I want to be towards my 100lbs loss goal or my Body-For-Life goals.  I don’t think I’ve been “cheating” or “slipping” or “falling off the horse.” I actually think I’ve been doing pretty good. I can’t help but recognize that I’m so much stronger, happier and healthier than I was a few months ago. Still… there’s that little voice in the back of my head that seems to be getting louder these days.
 
It says: Would you be okay if this was all you could lose? Would you be happy at this weight forever?
 
The answer is “no!” but it’s not a very confident “no.” It’s a “no” that suggests it might become a “yes” if much more time passes without weight loss.
 
But, I’m not resigning yet. I have too many options. The contract I have with myself is:
1. See if the Bodybugg assists with weight loss progress.
2. Address my concerns and review my bloodwork with my doc this month when I have my physical.
3. Return to the nutritionist.
 
That is my commitment with myself. I also have daily goals that will help me succeed:
1. Sleep 7+ hrs daily.
2. Work out 6x/week. I’ve added more cardio to my day: adding 10 minute brisk walks 2-3 times a day, an extra 20 minutes of cardio on my weight training days and an additional 10 minutes to my regular cardio days.
3. Eat balanced and healthy.
4. Free day once a week.
 

cat

Last night, I couldn’t fall asleep thanks to daylight savings time and drinking a diet orange soda that–unbeknownst to me–had 40-something mg of caffeine. Needless to say, I finally fell asleep long after midnight, and my eyes didn’t want to open for work–never mind an early morning workout, so I went during my lunch break instead.
 
Gym: 10 minute stairmill, 10 minute brisk walk, lower body weights
 
I’m also taking a 30-minute brisk walk after work tonight (1.8-2 miles)
 
My meals are also satisfying and healthy, although I haven’t inputted them into the BodyBugg site yet to see whether I met my caloric and macronutrient goals:
  • Breakfast: breakfast sandwich made w/1 egg, LF cheese on light oatmeal toast
  • Snack: 1 oz LF mozz cheese and carrot sticks
  • Lunch: salmon shashimi, california roll, garden salad with carrot-ginger dressing, fortune cookie
  • Snack: a Cadbury orange creme egg (1 chocolate fix every few days isn’t bad–I’m sure it fits in my calorie requirements today.)
  • Dinner: turkey, cheese, black bean, tomato, pepper, jalapeno and onion “quesadillas” made with a low carb, high fiber wrap. Garden salad with lowfat homemade salsa vinaigrette. Oh–and 1 TBS of FF Greek Yogurt as “sour cream.” Last night, I also tried a recipe for oven-roasted kale, which I’ll try at dinner tonight.
  • Dessert: apple slices microwaved with toasted almond/oatmeal topping, Splenda brown sugar, cinnamon and Cool Whip light.
Also: all meals for today and the weekend will be logged on my Bodybugg account. Tomorrow’s snacks are already packed and the meals are already prepped. I’m working on my 8th glass of water now.
 
I think I’ll also start posting my next day’s planned meals on my Bodybugg account so I can fine-tune any caloric or macronutrient needs before the day ends. If I need to make modifications, I can do it at the end of the day.
Because this is what I do when I get distressed or frustrated by my lack of progress, the following is my plan for this week. This weekend, I’ll post my success in following it. I promise!
Damn blogger-world accountability…
 
TUESDAY:
 
6am: 30 minute cardio (20 min spin bike, 10 min stairmill) @ gym
 
7 am: Bloodwork in prep for annual physical
 
7:30am snack: banana with 1 TBS peanut butter, double tall NF latte from Starbucks
 
9:30 am breakfast: homemade peaches & cream oat bran cereal made with Skim Plus milk & vanilla protein powder to get my protein requirements in.
 
Noon lunch: We’re having a potluck at work, but I’m avoiding the food for my own dinner leftovers just to keep calories in check. Turkey, cheese, black bean, tomato, pepper, jalapeno and onion “quesadillas” made with a low carb, high fiber wrap & FF Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Garden salad with lowfat homemade salsa vinaigrette.
 
3 pm snack: light yogurt with a high protein cereal, flaxseed & walnuts
 
5pm walk: 1.8-2 mile brisk walk around campus
 
6pm dinner: meatloaf, rice, salad with homemade LF vinaigrette, steamed broccoli
 
8pm dessert: SF Jello & Cool Whip Light while watching The Biggest Loser.
 
10pm: bedtime!
 
WEDNESDAY:
 
6am: upper body weights, 20 minutes cardio @ gym
 
7:15am breakfast: homemade peaches & cream oat bran cereal made with Skim Plus milk & egg white to get my protein requirements in. (Egg whites added to this also give it a creamy, custard-y flavor.)
 
9am snack: light yogurt with a high protein cereal, flaxseed & raw sliced almonds.
 
Noon lunch: Trader Joe’s shepherd’s pie & garden salad w/FF salsa vinaigrette
 
4 pm snack: 1 oz light mozzarella cheese, carrot sticks & cuke slices
 
5pm walk: 1.8-2 mile brisk walk around campus
 
6pm snack: apple slices & 1 TBS peanut butter
 
8:30pm dinner: Meet E during his dinner break. Maybe get the tortilla-less burrito at Baja Fresh? Or grilled shrimp, grilled veggies and black beans.
 
THURSDAY:
 
5:30 am: Spin class @ the gym
 
6:30am snack: light bread with 1 TBS peanut butter & reduced sugar preserves
 
7 am: thyroid sonogram
 
9 am breakfast: homemade peaches & cream oat bran cereal made with Skim Plus milk & egg whites.
 
Noon lunch: Trader Joe’s shepherd’s pie & garden salad w/FF salsa vinaigrette
 
3 pm snack: light yogurt with a high protein cereal, flaxseed & walnuts
 
5pm walk: 1.8-2 mile brisk walk around campus
 
6pm dinner: Oven baked fish & chips with oven-roasted green beans.
 
7pm: phone meeting with my Bodybugg coach.
 
8pm dessert: SF Jello & Cool Whip Light 
 
10pm: bedtime!
 
FRIDAY:
 
6 am: 20-30 minutes cardio (elliptical, walking) & lower body weights @ gym
 
8 am breakfast: homemade peaches & cream oat bran cereal made with Skim Plus milk & egg whites (or vanilla protein powder).
 
10am snack: light yogurt with a high protein cereal, flaxseed & walnuts
 
Noon lunch: Thursday dinner leftovers (oven-baked fish & chips, roasted green beans)
 
3 pm snack: LF cheese, cuke slices & carrot sticks
 
5pm walk: 1.8-2 mile brisk walk around campus
 
6pm dinner: meatloaf (I turned the Biggest Loser recipe for Muscling Up Meatballs into a meatloaf), cran-almond rice, salad with homemade LF vinaigrette, steamed broccoli
 
8pm dessert: light popcorn 
 
10pm: bedtime! YES! Even on Friday. Okay… so I’ll probably get up for a few hours when Evan gets home from work, but I’ll still get 8 hours in Friday night to Saturday morning.
 
SATURDAY:
 
Free Day. No schedule. No calorie counting. Eat without the “good food/bad food” duality, but eat only when I’m truly hungry and stop when I’m satisfied. No exercise planned, but Evan and I may go to downtown Philly, so we’ll be able to get some walking in.
 

128296214217657500imonurrefrig.jpg

 
 
Leave a Reply

