Restaurants are secretly making us fat, Part II

Okay, so yesterday I blogged about an expose a NY TV station did about extra calories being in some popular Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts treats. Today, I was running late, so I stopped at DD for an iced nonfat latte on my way back from the gym (fortunately, breakfast was ready and portable for my morning meetings). I ordered a medium, because that’s the size I get at Starbucks (yes, I AM a Starbucks snob, but it was out of the way given my time limitations today). I expected it would be the same.

Nope. A Starbucks medium (okay, “grande”) iced drink is 16oz. This was 24 oz. When they handed it to me, I actually gave it back and said, “I ordered a medium.” They said, “That IS a medium.”

Admittedly, I drank it all. It was decent. It was made with skim milk. And it was loaded with ice. I figured I got my two servings of dairy in today. BUT, I still wanted to find out the nutritional information, so I went to the DD website and got the following:

CHECK BACK SOON!

We’re sorry. The page you are trying to reach is being updated. Please try again later. If you have any immediate Nutrition questions, please contact us at 800-859-5339.

Annoying, but I suspect this is temporary and a response to the expose. Hopefully, they’re updating their nutritional information accurately.

Leave a Reply

