Back from my travels

I’m back from my Ithaca travels and food and drink indulgences. Surprisingly, it was relatively easy to keep myself in check without feeling deprived. I uploaded my Bodybugg info last night and entered my food for the weekend. I had a 27 calorie deficit one day and a 25 calorie overage on another day. Essentially, I broke even.

Surprisingly, the scale showed a 1 pound loss this morning.

I don’t quite understand it. Today was my annual physical and Pap, so I spoke to my doctor about my weight loss stall. She’s supported me from the beginning, celebrating my losses and telling me she needs me to talk to her overweight patients who are struggling. I’ve been maintaining a 750 calorie deficit for the past month with no weight loss to show for it. She said “eventually, it’s gonna come off.” She also reviewed my blood work and found the following:

  • thyroid tested within the normal range
  • blood glucose is perfect
  • LDL and Triglycerides are up a little from last year and now on the high end of normal
  • HDL (“good” cholesterol) is perfect.
  • Liver functioning: perfect
  • Vitamin D is very low
  • C-reactive protein is sky high (normal is 1-3, I had 13-point-something)

What does this mean?

The vitamin D results surprised me. I’ve been taking a supplement since November and I eat 2-3 servings of dairy and eggs, salmon and tuna (other good sources of the vitamin) regularly. She suggested that I double up my vitamin dose. (The other option is to get more sun, but as a fair skinned girl with a family history of skin cancer, I think I’ll skip that one!)

C-reactive protein is used to determine one’s likelihood of having heart problems, but it’s not very reliable. A higher than average number suggests inflammation, which could indicate infection. It can be impacted by obesity, birth control pills and by exercising immediately before blood work (which I did), so for me, the results are inconclusive. I’ll be rested in 6 months to see if there’s any change.

The doc is willing to send me back to the nutritionist, which I may do if I don’t have any weight loss success in the next 2-4 weeks. I’m going to try increasing the intensity of my cardio, starting with a spin class tonight. I also suspect my BCPs could be the culprit. I recently switched to the generic brand and have suffered moodiness, spotting and lack of progress on the weight loss front ever since. So, I’m going to suck it up and pay for the brand name (which never gave me any problems). That’s $25/month up from $3/month but I am fortunate to be able to afford it.

As for the cholesterol results, I probably had too many whole eggs the week of my bloodwork. I remember it being a week where I ran out of egg whites and used more whole eggs than normal.

Speaking of eggs, I am about 5 weeks away from turning 33. On most days, I feel pretty young, despite an increased investment in skin care products (thank you Philosophy!), a daily discovery new gray hairs and the occassional ache and pain. My doc, a GP, noted that I wasn’t getting any younger and said, “Are you thinking of having children? You may want to consider going to an OB/GYN sooner rather than later–definitely before you decide to conceive since you have PCOS and are on metformin to treat it.”

At least that’s what I think she said. In my head, I heard “Have you heard that incessant ticking yet? It’s counting the seconds before you turn into a crazy old cat lady who is barren and needs to rely on the Meals on Wheels delivery guy to make sure she’s not laying on the floor dead.”

I get that my likelihood of conceiving a child and carrying it to term decreases by 10% every 5 years after the age of 30. I know that the chances of miscarriage are increasing exponentially (9% for 20-24 year olds, 20% for 35-39 year olds and a whopping 50% for those aged 42+) as I age. I’ve always thought that I can protect myself (and still postpone babymaking) as long as I keep myself in good health. That was part of the reason I started this weight loss effort to begin with. Now, I learn that no matter how youthful I appear (I still get carded at bars) and how well I maintain my health (I have perfect bp, sustained weight loss and I am a physically active person who goes to the gym 5-6 times a week), it’s impact on my little chicklets-to-be is minimal.

Gosh… I always kind of chuckled at women who complained about their biological clock ticking. And now I AM one of them.

One response to “Back from my travels

  1. Good for you for getting everything checked out! It sounds like you have a good doctor!

    I had to chuckle, because I had a similar conversation with my gynecologist when I went for my yearly back in February. It was the “the time is now” conversation. Gee, thanks. No pressure. I’m 35, by the way. Oh, and single… That leads me to believe that the time may NOT be now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

