A Week of Yogurts…

Good looking yogurts seemed to be popping up everywhere this week! Dannon Light N Fit dropped some new flavors (lime, pomegranate berry and pineapple coconut), and I finally decided to indulge in one of the So Delicious coconut milk yogurts I’ve been eyeing at the grocery store for weeks!

Each day this week, I’ll review one of the new flavors. Today’s choice: So Delicious Passionate Mango-flavored coconut milk yogurt.

The reason for my hesitation in purchasing this twofold:

  • A 6oz. cup of this yogurt costs $2 at my local grocery store
  • The nutritional information doesn’t fit my typical yogurt profile at all (more fat, more calories, less protein, more sugar)

But, I love, love, LOVE coconut, so I had to try this.

My first impression was all about sight and smell. It definitely had a sweet, tropical scent, but the coconut was barely noticable. The yogurt was a beautiful banana-color and a very thin, smooth consistency.

The taste: light yet creamy. The coconut flavor was underwhelming–I would’ve loved a stronger flavor–but it was definitely tropical. When I was halfway through the container, I realized it would pair nicely with some Banana Nut Cheerios I also picked up last night for a little added crunch factor. Bingo! It made a great “dessert” ending to the boring sandwich I had for lunch.

Would I buy it again? Maybe for a treat, but not for regular consumption due to the calorie and saturated fat content. I’d love to try the chocolate, plain and vanilla flavors. They also have raspberry, strawberry, blueberry, pina colada and strawberry banana. (Note of caution: some flavors, like vanilla and chocolate have more calories!)

This yogurt is dairy/lactose, soy and gluten free. It’s vegan and provides a substantial amount of the recommended daily value of calcium (30%), magnesium (25%) and B12 (30%). Unfortunately, there’s a health downside in this yogurt due to the saturated fat content. Diets high in saturated fat are correlated with an increased risk of coronary heart disease and also carry a greater risk of increases in LDL and triglyeride levels.

yogurt

Nutritional Information (for a 6oz cup):

  • 130 calories
  • 7 grams of fat
  • 6 grams of saturated fat (30% RDA)
  • 0 g cholesterol
  • 10mg sodium
  • 19g carbs
  • 2 g fiber
  • 16 g sugar
  • 1 g protein
Leave a Reply

