I’ve fallen in love

I’m having a love affair with this:

Tons of bloggers seem to swoon over the fun blends by Peanut Butter & Co. A few weeks ago, I tried the Dark Chocolate Dreams and thought it was pretty good, but couldn’t see myself replacing my regular Skippy Natural for it. It was a little too sweet for me, but I like it on a piece of light toast with fresh bananas or strawberries sliced on top.

Today, I smeared a tablespoon of Mighty Maple on a Fuji apple for my mid-morning snack. To my surprise, all the stress from the day washed away. My office could have burned down around me, and I wouldn’t have noticed.

Description of this PB: nice smooth peanut buttery flavor with a shock of grainy maple bits. It’s as if you mixed my normal PB with maple sugar candy fresh from Vermont.

Perfect pairing for an apple. I also can’t wait to try it on a kashi waffle with some banana for breakfast tomorrow.

Downsides: The cost is a bit steep: $4-something for a jar (I think it’s 12 oz but I could be wrong). Also, it’s higher in carbs and sugar than natural peanut butters.

I also have the White Chocolate and Cinnamon Raisin versions at home, waiting to be tried. In fact, I currently have 6 jars of peanut butter sitting in my house. For a girl that hated peanut butter and jelly sandwiches throughout her childhood and avoided it during young adulthood thinking it was too high in fat to be appropriate to eat, the peanutty goodness seems to have grown on me.

6 responses to “I’ve fallen in love

  1. I have an embarrassing number of jars of nut butter open at home right now, including, of course mighty maple. I think it’s my favorite PB&Co. selection, unless, of course, it is a situation where chocolate is needed! Then, I turn to the Dark Chocolate Dreams. That is, of course, if I don’t pick Nutella instead! I have a lot of nutty boyfriends. 🙂

    I’m so glad you are enjoying it!

  2. Where would one find these tantalizing peanut butters you wrote about?

  3. Um… I recently discovered that the Chocolate Dreams is amazing when melted on vanilla gelato or ice cream. I suddenly like it much, much more!

    Just tried the white chocolate too–very subtle, but tasty. I’d like to track down The Bee’s Knees.

  4. I’ve seen it at Stop & Shop (which you don’t have) and good ole Wegman’s. You can also order them online and get them at the Peanut Butter & Co. store (based in NYC). If there are flavors you’d like to try and you can’t find them in Ithaca, let me know and I’ll pick some up for you or I’ll just pack up my own jars and we can have a pb sampling party before you commit 🙂

  5. They also have them at Whole Foods!

  6. Whole Foods had it on sale this week.. i bought it because of this and my friend Katy blogged about her love for it last year… I bought the dark chocolate dreams (they didn’t have maple and i don’t like white chocolate) and it’s amazing. When you need something sweet. I had a spoonful of it yesterday. It’s not going to replace my TJ Flaxseed/Skippy natural PB but it will be a staple in my cabinet for when I need a chocolate snack… mmm…

Leave a Reply

