Foodie Fights Challenge

Guess what! Guess what!

I’ve been selected to participate in a food challenge by a new blog FoodieFights! It’s run by these two guys who each have their own food blogs and once competed against each other in an online blogger version of the Iron Chef. That spun off this fantastic idea to have regular blogger throwdowns.

Their first competition featured two ingredients that each blogger had to use in their recipe: potatoes and lemon.

Not exactly easy, but certainly doable. The recipes submitted looked great (I bookmarked three to try at some point this season), and I was inspired to try to get in on the action this time around. This morning I found out I was chosen to participate (coincidentally, as I was planning what to make for dinner tomorrow night). Yay!

But this challenge got a little more, er, challenging. The special ingredients?

RHUBARB & CORIANDER

Aaack!

Rhubarb brings back fond memories of picking it from my grandmother’s back yard only to dip it in a bowl of sugar, sucking all the sugar off before biting at the tart stalk. I’ve never, ever cooked with it.

Coriander? Well, I’ve used it a couple times in savory dishes, and I’ve used it’s older sibling cilantro TONS of times. Needless to say, the spice has been in my collection nearly as long as I’ve lived on my own, so it’s time to buy some fresh stuff as I start the kitchen experimentation.

Note to readers: spices DO have expiration dates. Try to replace your spices annually. Coriander, in particular, ages rapidly. If there are spices you don’t use frequently, buy smaller portions of them to reduce waste.

Let the planning begin! My challenge to myself is to create my own recipe (not follow or modify someone else’s). Also, aside from the occassional cupcake indulgence, I try to make sure the food I eat is healthy, fresh and in season. I want to be sure that philosophy extends to what I create for this competition.

Speaking of competition, you should check out the blogs of the fellow contestants. We’re talking serious talent here!

Crazy Monkey House 
 
Brake for Bread 
 
The Arugula Files

Aga Kitchen  

Elaine, the Gourmet Girl

3 responses to “Foodie Fights Challenge

  1. Cool!! Good luck! I can’t wait to see what you come up with! 🙂

  2. Your post cracked me up because it was so similar to mine, complete with a fear of the chosen ingredients.

    I’m shaking in my apron just at the thought of rhubarb. Good luck!

  3. HA! Glad I’m not the only one. But at least you’ve cooked a lot with coriander (yes, I’ve peeked at your blog too). Good luck!

Leave a Reply

