Coming soon!

I’m still recovering for dealing with holiday traffic and unpacking from the weekend, so really, this blog post is only a teaser for what to expect over the next few days.

On our way back to Connecticut, Evan and I got stuck in traffic thanks to this HUGE truck fire, which shut down the highway for hours. It made our 4 hour drive last 7 hours. By the time we drove by the accident site, the burned out truck was still there, charred and in pieces. Typically, these vehicles would be towed off the highway. This truck was in such bad shape, they had to drop off a Dumpster and take it out in pieces. Fortunately, I believe no one was injured from the accident and fire.

The Cupcake Throwdown between my sister and I was a blast. The best part–she taught me how to make buttercream. Or at least I think she did. I haven’t tried to make my own yet. My buttercream always tastes too sweet and dense, so I tried to study her technique in hopes of having better results in the future. I think we will continue the tradition. Our high school guidance counselor sent us a care package of cupcake cookbooks that will help us continue to work on our technique. More on all of this later! (Hopefully, tonight! Complete with recipes and photos.)

Also… I have a TON of new cookbooks to try out. And, since I’m doing part one of my summer Staycation this week, I’ll have plenty of time to try them out and blog about them. I have Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, Hungry Girl’s 200 under 200 and the Cooking Light Complete Cookbook.

This week will also include a concert (Mae at the North Star Bar in Philly) and maybe a trip to the Philly zoo or a day of window shopping in New York City. My inner geek is also a wee bit excited about the Scripps National Spelling Bee which will be televised on ABC Thursday night. Also on my geek out list: I just Netflixed the documentary Scrabylon about the World Scrabble Championship.

Do any of you watch documentaries? Which are your favorites? I’m always looking to add a few more to my Netflix queue! 

One response to “Coming soon!

  1. oh my, how harrowing to actually SEE the accident take place that stranded us to a 2 mile an hour existence for so so long on the highway. Glad to see no one got hurt too badly on it.

    Val’s butter creme was indeed delightful, it was pretty interesting watching her mix ingredients and how shockingly fast it takes to make amazing toppings for a cupcake masterpiece. The images of Val slaving away for hours upon end throwing away pounds and pounds of imperfect sweetness in my mind have now been replaced with “presto! awesome tastes in barely 20 minutes!”

    Also can’t wait to try out some of these supposedly “low calorie, high taste” recipes with you…and by try out, I mean watch you make something amazing while I open containers and set clocks. I know my place in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

