Oats a Couple Dozen Ways

For some reason, the dreary weather earlier in the week had me craving a hot bowl of oats. While today’s dish was pumpkin pie oats, I’ve also included a bunch of other flavor combos I’ve tried or would like to try. I’d love to expand this list to 100 different oatmeal combos, so please feel free to add your own ideas in the comments section and I’ll add them to the list with a link to your blog, if you have one.

This morning’s oats combo was amazing! I put 1 c. oats, 1 c. canned pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling), 1 c. egg whites, 1.5 c. of water and 1 tsp of cinnamon in the rice cooker and turned it on while I showered and got ready for work. By the time I was ready to leave, my pumpkin pie oats were done. I put half of it in a Tupperware for tomorrow’s breakfast and sprinkled the other half with 1 TBS walnuts and a packet of Splenda to eat at my desk this morning.
WW points: 5-6. It depends on whether you calculate the dish as a whole or calculate individual components.
Nutritional information: 307 calories/10g fat/38g carbs/10g fiber/21g protein
I know adding egg whites seem strange, but it’s a great nonfat way to boost the protein content of your oatmeal (leading to higher satiety) and it gives the oats a custard-like, creamy flavor.
My favorite aspects of this dish:
  • Very filling.
  • Great comfort food, but isn’t too carb heavy thanks to the nuts and egg whites.
  • I hardly do a thing. The rice cooker does it all while I’m getting ready! I could easily make a batch big enough for the workweek, which would require even LESS work.

I’d also consider substituting the pumpkin and walnuts for the following combos:

  1. Banana Bread Flavor: banana and walnuts
  2. banana and peanut butter
  3. PB&J: peanut butter & low sugar strawberry jam
  4. peanut butter, banana & low-sugar strawberry jam
  5. peanut butter & honey
  6. peanut butter, banana & honey
  7. banana and carob chips
  8. Chocolate Chip Cookie Flavor: carob chips & walnuts or pecans
  9. fresh or frozen berries and almonds
  10. sugar free apple pie filling, unsweetened applesauce or fresh peeled apples with any kind of nut
  11. diced pear
  12. diced peaches
  13. apricots
  14. Aria Vanilla protein powder (I’ve tried a dozen different kinds, but this one is my favorite and can be found at Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, Stop and Shop or Wegmans)
  15. figs or dates and walnuts or pecans
  16. fresh vanilla bean or a high quality vanilla extract and almost any kind of nut
  17. unsweetened cocoa powder (maybe also unsweetened coconut flakes) and almost any kind of nut
  18. plain ole nutmeg and cinnamon and vanilla
  19. Sundae-flavored: pineapple, marachino cherry, unsweetened coconut and chopped pecans
  20. unsweetened cocoa and peanut butter
  21. unsweetened cocoa and banana
  22. sprinkled with some crispy turkey bacon (nothing like a savory twist on a typically sweet dish)
  23. low fat turkey breakfast sausage
  24. crumbled Morningstar breakfast “sausage” patties
  25. a little bit of mashed sweet potato
  26. plain with some vanilla and ginger and topped with a crushed gingersnap
  27. Cinnamon Roll flavor: cinnamon and walnuts (raisins optional)
  28. Chai Latte: use chai tea concentrate instead of water and toss in some vanilla Aria protein powder to boost protein and flavor.
  29. Banana Chai Latte: same as above with the addition of chopped or mashed bananas. Great combo!

Additions from our readers:

  1. Plain old maple syrup! (The real stuff, people–not the “maple flavored syrup” you find on most grocery store shelves.)
  2. Cardamom and chopped mango, topped with pistachios
  3. Molasses
  4. Jess also recommended sweetened condensed milk which reminded me of the Magic Cookie Bars my grandma used to make (some people call them Seven Layer Bars). How good would oatmeal taste with some coconut, carob chips, walnuts and top with a crushed graham cracker?

Who said oats need to be boring?

2 responses to “Oats a Couple Dozen Ways

  1. Hi Tina! I mentioned this on your facebook page, but I just wanted to chime in here how much I enjoyed this post.

    What about a kulfi inspired oatmeal with cardamom and pistachios? Maybe even toss in some mango?

    Other things I like in my oatmeal: nonfat plain yogurt and kashi nuggets (stirred in at the end for extra crunch). I don’t know if sweeteners jive with your food plan, but I also like a spoonful of maple syrup, and I bet a small amount of molasses or sweetened condensed milk would be nice.

  2. Oooh… that sounds good. Mango and cardamom are such a good pairing. I am inconsistent in terms of my sweetener philosophy. I’d prefer to use more natural sweeteners (honey, maple syrup, raw sugar) but sometimes that doesn’t work with my calorie budget, so I stick with Splenda.

    I don’t think I’ve used sweetened condensed milk for anything except for Magic Cookie Bars. Great idea! Maybe even toss in some coconut, carob chips, walnuts and top with a crushed graham cracker.

    Thanks for the compliments!

Leave a Reply

