My sister is a PITA

No… not the mediterranean version.

After my last post (and apparently my comment about how I really, REALLY wasn’t going to run a 5k), my sister sent me the following e-mail (with the subject “Suck it Up”):

I think you need to suck it up and do a 5K.. what’s the point of training if you aren’t going to do one? Also it will make you feel empowered. And that’s really what your blog is about. You’ve talked in your blog about how [weight has] made you afraid of trying things. I think you should do 1 5K. You’ll get a free tshirt and maybe you’ll inspire others. The biggest losers did 5Ks, half marathons and marathons this year. You can do a 5K. I did one without training once and walked half the way and everyone still cheered and I didn’t come in last. It’s more motivating to do a 5K then to run alone on the streets. You might find you like it. I think it would be good to show your blog viewers you’re not letting weight limit you… am I now annoying you? 😛

Damn her. She’s always been a PITA (pain in the ass). She’s probably right.

SEE THAT VAL? I actually admitted FOR ONCE IN MY LIFE that YOU MAY BE RIGHT.

Sheesh… what am I thinking?

I am evolving. We all are. Time to embrace it. A year and a half ago, when I stopped WW, I said I wouldn’t be back. Well, guess what. I’m back. I have the Starcatcher to show off my gold stars and the little Momentum Hungry Guy magnet on my fridge to prove it. A year or two ago, when my sister took me to a local track to do plyometrics and jogging, I told her–between dry heaves and drips of sweat–I’d never run again. And now I’m running. A few hours after she sent me the e-mail, I found myself considering skipping my writer’s group meeting to run. Again. I already ran this morning.

Yes, those ARE crow feathers stuck to my lower lip. Thanks for letting me know.

So, for now, I’ll set a couple mini goals so that this “running” thing isn’t totally aimless:

  • Be able to jog a mile without stopping (by September)
  • Jog the last mile of the Breast Cancer 3-Day (October–as if it’s not crazy enough that I’m walking 60 miles, now I’ll add jogging the last mile of it to the challenge? Yup!)

I’ll figure out what’s next from there. Right after I figure out what in the world has possessed me.

8 responses to “My sister is a PITA

  1. I walked a few 5Ks before I ran one, and I enjoyed each race for different reasons. I hope you find a way to make it fun. You’ll be great!!

    PITA is one of my favorite acronyms. I use it a lot at work. Given that I have a job that is rich in acronyms, it fits in quite nicely! 🙂

  2. Dammit… because I was a PITA that means I have to run the last mile of the 3 day… how about each day we jog the last mile and the last day we run it?

    You can run a mile.. remember you need to run slow to run fast… I can do another plyo session next time we’re both home too! 🙂

  3. Oh and I love being right! 🙂 And it’s happened more than once..

  4. I think those are good goals, and certainly not unreasonable.

    I decided about 2 months ago that I had to work on getting back into shape. I force myself to run almost every day even though it is possibly the WORST EVER. From scratch I could do about a mile, running the first 1/3rd walking the middle and running the last. I’ve steadily increased the distance and now can do almost 2 miles, running the first 1.25 walking .25 and running the last.

    I will not lie to you and tell you that it is fun, or that it doesn’t hurt or suck something fierce, it does all of these things. But, I am starting to feel better, in general and mentally, now that I’ve worked it into my routine.

    GL to you!

  5. I think it’s awesome that you are going to run a 5K!!! GOOD JOB!!!! YOU CAN DO IT!!!

  6. brittaaaaaany c

    tina, do the neptune city day 5k with me!

  7. hmmmm… maybe 🙂 Can we pick something that’s not in August? I’d like to survive this.

  8. All this talk about running is making me think I should try it. Now that I have a new knee, it just might work if I don’t fall off the treadmill 1st! I’ll have to give it some thought.

Leave a Reply

