Yes I like Pina Coladas…

Jimmy Buffet knew what he was talking about when he sang those lyrics. I’ve been obsessed with the pineapple coconut combo lately, as apparent from a couple of cooking experiments over the past couple days (cupcakes and now frozen yogurt).

I made a great, low sugar frozen yogurt Monay night in the ice cream maker that I stole borrowed from my mother over the weekend. It’s really easy, but I also like it because it’s full of “real” ingredients. Not a bunch of scientific names that you find in many pre-packaged foods. Feel free to experiment with it and use yogurt with more fat or your favorite (artificial) sweetender, if you wish. It’s kinda nice not to be limited by grocery store shelves every once in awhile!

PINA COLADA FRO YO

Ingredients

  • 1/4 c. of shredded coconut
  • 16oz container of fat free Greek yogurt, plain
  • 10oz crushed pineapple (drained)
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 oz. rum (I didn’t have any so I used Triple Sec)–this is optional, for flavoring and and it’s supposed to prevent the ice cream from getting too hard, if you need to store it in the freezer for later.

Directions

1. Toast coconut in a 350 degree oven. Let cool.

2. Run the pineapple, yogurt, vanilla extract and sugar through the blender or a food processor. (I skipped this step but wished I did it to make a smoother consistency yogurt.)

3. Pour the yogurt mixture in your ice cream maker and turn it on. Once the mixture starts to freeze a bit (like drippy soft-serve), add the coconut and rum. Contine letting the ice cream maker do it’s thing until it’s the right consistency for you. It shouldn’t take more than 30 minutes.

4. Enjoy!

I didn’t have much luck with leftovers. Despite the use of triple sec, this froze solid and was unscoopable unless I left it out for two hours. Possible reasons: too much pineapple, pineapple wasn’t drained enough or triple sec didn’t have a high enough alcohol content. I know it wasn’t my freezer, considering it’s been on the fritz lately and doesn’t seem to be keeping anything consistently frozen solid.

I’m only eating 1/3 of a cup servings, so this makes about 6 servings at 109 calories each (according to CalorieCount.com), but the information below is for a 1/2 cup serving.

Nutritional information (serves 4, 1/2 cup servings each)

  • 169 Calories
  • 1.8 g fat
  • 1.5 g saturated fat
  • 35.2 g carbs
  • 32.4 g sugar
  • 1.4 g fiber
  • 0.5 g protein

 

One response to “Yes I like Pina Coladas…

  1. I’m going to have to make this. Definitely. I’m enjoying my ice cream maker so much this summer!

    I’m with you– it’s nice to know exactly what’s in the fro yo! “Real” ingredients are the best!

Leave a Reply

