60 miles

Oh yeah… some of you wondered why I was so crazy as to start planning all of these long walks, including my Urban Jungle 10 Miler.

I’m training for the Breast Cancer 3-Day–a 60 mile walk that raises awareness and funds for breast cancer research and education efforts. Every penny that’s donated benefits the Komen Foundation and the National Philanthropic Trust Breast Cancer Fund. (Donations from various sponsors and my $90 registration fee covers the cost of the event.)

On October 16, I will be one of thousands of men and women (but mostly women) sleeping in a tent and walking my buns off with my sister and a couple friends. Each of us needs to raise at least $2,300.

I was hoping this walk would be a celebration of a 100 lb weight loss. Being at a healthy weight would significantly reduce the likelihood that I would eventually be diagnosed with any number of diseases. Being overweight increases my likelihood of acquiring cancer and would make my struggle through treatment greater.

Currently, I am down more than 55 lbs from my all-time high. When I first registered for the walk, I did the math and figured I would need to lose an average of 1.3 lbs a week between then and the walk; however, my body (and sometimes my lifestyle and life choices) have prevented me from losing more weight, so in the meantime, my goal is to be down a total of 75 pounds by then. That means I need to lose a smidge more than 1 lb a week. Doable. Totally doable.

  • 60 miles=120,000 steps
  • 4,756-5,940=number of calories burned by a 150lb woman after walking 60 miles (3mph pace)
  • 6,340-7,920=number of calories burned by a 200lb woman after walking 60 miles (3mph pace)

I have to raise $2,300. So far, I’ve raised about 20%–just under $500 through personal donations. I have plans to recruit more personal sponsors and corporate sponsores, as well as host larger-scale fundraising events.

If you would like to make a personal donation, I would be honored and grateful. To view my personal fundraising page, go here.

2 responses to “60 miles

  1. Good luck to you! The Breast Cancer 3-Day is such a worthwhile, and I’m sure, life-changing, cause. It’s daunting to think of walking that much in so short a time, but with determination, I know you’ll be successful.

  2. Pingback: But I would walk 500 miles « Downsized!

Leave a Reply

