June Overview

For the past month and a half, I’ve been tracking my workouts on my monthly calendar. The blue highlighter crosses and notes on what I’ve done seem to keep me motivated.

Now THIS is what success looks like! This calendar includes long weekends away (3-4 days each) and two weeks of being on call, which means that I have to bring a cell phone with me to the gym and be prepared to run out of spin class mid-sweat to resolve some kind of situation.

Now THIS is what success looks like! This calendar includes long weekends away (3-4 days each) and two weeks of being on call, which means that I have to bring a cell phone with me to the gym and be prepared to run out of spin class mid-sweat to resolve some kind of situation.

Here’s what I accomplished in June (the above calendar doesn’t reflect the workouts I did yesterday and today, but the numbers below do):

  • Worked out 22 out of 30 days. (Perfect!)
  • Completed 8 weight workouts. (I would like to bump this up to 10-14 in July)
  • 5 ab workouts. (I would like to bump this up to 10-14 in July)
  • 11 spin classes. (Perfect. My goal is 2-3 spin classes a week.)
  • 7 C25k sessions. (Started June 9–plan to do 12-14 in July)
  • More than 16 hours–970 minutes of cardio (not including a long hike and another long walking day during my Cedar Point vacation). That averages out to more than 30 minutes of cardio exercise daily.
  • I took 1-2 rest days each week. (Again, perfect!)

You are my witnesses! Fitness goals for July:

  • Exercise 22-26 out of 31 days
  • 10-14 weight workouts
  • 10-14 ab workouts
  • 10-14 spin classes
  • 8 swim sessions
  • walk 62 miles (this is keeping in line with my Breast Cancer 3-Day training)
  • 12-14 C25k sessions
  • 1-2 rest days weekly

My workout schedule is a little complicated. I’m training for a 5k, training for the Breast Cancer 3-Day and trying to fit in some of the exercise I love (spinning and swimming) and the strength exercise I need (weights and abs). I’m not being strict about following the Breast Cancer 3-Day training plan. I’m following the regimen for the 2 long walks (3-6 miles in the beginning but gradually working up to 10-18 miles each) on the weekends. As those long walks get longer, I may need to or want to reduce some of my cardio elsewhere. During the week, I’m sticking with my C25k training, spin, swim and strength.

Some random thoughts and reminders:

Have you heard about the documentary Food, Inc.? It’s  Go here and type your zip code in to find out if it’s playing at a theater near you. I hope to see it Thursday night.

Voting for the FoodieFights zucchini/garam masala challenge ends today. Go here to review the recipes and vote!

I alone cannot lose enough weight to make up for the waistlines that expand each year. Have you seen how your state ranks in regards to obesity? Go here to see your state’s stats and here to read the article.

And am I the only one to think that South Carolina Governor Sanford has got to be the biggest moron ever? First he says he’s hiking and it turns out he’s in Argentina with his mistress (despite telling his wife he was going to break it off and not see her anymore). Then he admits the mistress is his soulmate and follows it up with something along the lines of “but I’m trying to fall back in love with my wife?” Doesn’t he have bigger things to worry about? Like balancing South Carolina’s state budget? Sstimulating the economy? Working with legislators to pass good policies that will cut his state’s frightening obesity rate (29.7% of adults and 33.7% of children)? Hmmmm…

And, because we all need an excuse to fret over yet another body part, Gold’s Gym has decided it’s Cankle Awarness Month. Let’s all celebrate by wearing capris and strappy sandals that lace around the ankle! Oh dear… they even have a website for it and claim they can cure the “affliction.” Sorry, Gold’s! I’ve had cankles since I was a fetus, and they stayed with me through my thin teen years. I doubt “taking long brisk walks for 30 minutes a day” is going to do it for me, but thanks for trying!

2 responses to “June Overview

  1. Looks like you had a GREAT month! hope july is just as good!

  2. cankles are cute! we should embrace them!

Leave a Reply

