I am not a patient woman

Finally!

Have you ever taken a test or turned in a paper and realized how anxious you were to see how you did? Perhaps this is my inner nerd and need for external validation coming out (oh gosh, that sounds pathetic) but I have been on the edge of my seat as we’ve waited for the Foodie Fights results. Even my students and colleagues were eager to hear the results. (Awwww, thanks, guys!)

And the winner is….Cranky Cakes’ zucchini pancakes with tahini yogurt dressing. Well-deserved. She earned appreciation points from me by adapting a recipe from the Moosewood Cookbook and using garlic scapes. I haven’t used them yet, but I’ve been looking for them at Whole Foods and the Farmer’s Market, because I’ve heard such amazing things about them. And the Moosewood is close to my heart as it’s a restaurant based in Ithaca NY, where I used to live.

The runner up was Endless Simmer’s Zucchini & Chickpea Spring Roll with Masala Dipping Sauce. Even if the thought of wrapping delicate rice paper around zucchini makes your hands shake, you have to check out the post. This is food photography at it’s finest!

I got third place. In all, I’m pretty happy. One of the two judges (Ivonne from The Daring Kitchen and Cream Puffs in Venice) gave me a runner up placement, the other (Caleb from Food Goes In Mouth) wasn’t too sure how my creation would taste. Of course, that’s one of the limitations of an online food competition–but I don’t think I could handle waiting for the two judges to cook and taste-test all of the recipes first!

That said, Caleb, if you’re on the East coast Saturday for 4th of July festivities, drop me a line. My chocolate zucchini cake will make another appearance at a little shindig I’m hosting Saturday. 6pm. In NJ. The rest of the menu will probably include some grilled something-or-other, corn salad, zucchini salad, tossed salad with homemade balsamic dressing and maybe an Israeli couscous dish and this lovely looking tomato tart. 🙂

Now… off to plan my July 4th grocery list (photos, recipes will hopefully be posted Sunday) and relax for a bit.

3 responses to “I am not a patient woman

  1. Thank you for the kind words! That chocolate cake was pretty amazing looking – I thought it was between you and NomNomNom. Hope our blog paths cross again.

  2. Wow! Dinner tomorrow night sounds amazing!!! Can’t wait to try the cake!

  3. Damn! I’m a West Coast guy and I’m not sure I can get out of my own July 4th activities to make the hop to Jersey 😉 But I’m serious, I’ll find a way to taste this cake, even if I have to bribe a local baker. Have a good holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

