zucchini slaw

Evan and I never ended up getting to see “Food, Inc.” thanks to all the July 4th festivities this weekend, so I went by myself last night. I am so completely overwhelmed (yet inspired) by this movie–I’m still trying to wrap my head around it and figure out how this will impact my own life and how I personally will take action. My immediate response was to go to the supermarket next door and purchase every organic/health food/vegetarian magazine on the shelves.

In the meantime, I urge you all to check out the trailer, see if the movie is playing in your neighborhood (if so, go!), sign the Child Nutrition Act Reauthorization and look at other ways you can take action to enhance your health and improve food safety and quality.

In the meantime, I have a delish use for this season’s zucchini bounty.

Zucchini Slaw

  • 1 medium-sized zucchini, shredded
  • 2 carrots, shredded
  • 4-5 radishes, shredded
  • 3 TBS cider vinegar
  • 1 TBS grapeseed oil (or another mild oil)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1-2 tsp of honey

Whisk together the vinegar, oil, salt, pepper and honey. Pour it over the shredded veggies and toss.

Let this sit in the fridge for a couple hours. The dressing will soften the veggies.

Voila!

Voila!

Serves 4. Each serving has 59 calories, 3.6 g. fat, 6.4 g. carbs, 1.5 g. fiber, 3.9 g. sugar, 0.9 g. protein.

Leave a Reply

