It doesn’t hurt more if you smile

Today was not a good night for a workout. It was supposed to be a vacation week for me, but I chose to work today and tomorrow, so I could interview some candidates for a position I have open and fill the position ASAP. My hope is that it will be easier for me in the long run. Since I wasn’t mentally in a work mood, the day was more tiring for me and by the time I got to the gym, I wanted to work out, but everything seemed so much harder and nothing seemed to want to work properly: my MP3 player died even though I had just charged it, and the treadmill emergency stop button kept falling out, completely stopping the machine in the middle of my routine.

Fortunately, there was enough positive energy in the place to keep me going.

Exihibit A: a little boy–perhaps 4–and his mom were sitting on the sofa waiting for dad to finish his workout. Another man was sitting on a nearby chair reading a magazine. Little Boy asks Mom “Mommy, what is that man’s name?” Mom says, “I don’t know. Why don’t you ask him?” Little Boy responds, “I can’t. I think he’s mad.” Mom says “I don’t think so. He’s just reading.” Little Boy walks up to Man and says, “What’s your name?” Man answers him. Boy says “Are you reading a bad story? You look mad. I like funny stories.”

Exhibit B: I must have had a scowl on my face. Truth is, I was annoyed by this guy that was taking up a weight bench and two of the machines because he was attempting to create a circuit. He kept rudely waving people away anytime they got near “his” stuff. A middle aged man had been lifting weights about 15 feet away from me. He finished his set and took his headphones off as he approached me. “You know,” he said, grinning. “It doesn’t hurt more if you smile. Or you can get yourself one of those music player things and crank the music up really loudly so you can’t hear your muscles begging you to stop.”

And then, when I left, I saw that the moon was out. It was a full, almost swollen, golden moon. Quite a peaceful end to the day.

Leave a Reply

