New addition!

For the past 5-10 years I’ve been in love with the Bedford desk set from Pottery Barn, but I’ve refused to let myself entertain the idea of owning an expensive desk, when I’m not in a permanent (or at least a semi-permanent) home yet. But finally, logic set in. I have the money, I’ve been wanting the desk for years (so little chance I’ll get it and wish I bought something else) and this desk comes in three parts so moving it is actually quite easy!

Finally… it’s here! (Sorry the pictures are a little dark.)

On the left are file drawers. On the right is a regular drawer, a space for my tower and shelves for CDs and other supplies.

On the left are file drawers. On the right is a regular drawer, a space for my tower and shelves for CDs and other supplies.

I love the way this looks with my IKEA bookshelves and cabinets. It's the perfect home office. On the wall is my calendar, a magnetic board for reminders and odds & ends and a dry erase weekly calendar where I write my workout plan for the week.

I love the way this looks with my IKEA bookshelves and cabinets. It's the perfect home office. On the wall is my calendar, a magnetic board for reminders and odds & ends and a dry erase weekly calendar where I write my workout plan for the week.

The Pottery Barn people were great to work with. Originally, this entire desk set was backordered (for months!). Then finally, everything except one component was in. Two weeks later, they called and said everything was in and they set up a delivery date immediately. (I scheduled it for a week later because I didn’t want to miss work, but they could have done it within 3 days.) They left a message the night before to give me a delivery window (8am-11:30am) and they called at 7:20 am the day of the delivery to say “Hey! We’ll be there in 20 minutes–is that okay or do you need us to wait?” Ummm… sure! They were a little later than that, but everything was delivered and set up and they removed all the trash by 8:30. By 9, I received an automated call with a survey to determine whether I had good service. If you didn’t press all 5s (for excellent satisfaction), you could leave a 60 second message to explain. Very impressive!

Prior to this I was working on what they call a bill payer’s desk which is essentially a file cabinet with a drop leaf desktop. Very small and cramped! It was fine for short term web surfing, e-mailing and other basics, but not good for any longer-term computer or office tasks–and certainly not good for writing.

I spent the morning setting up my computer on the new desk transferring things from the old desk and organizing my files. Now I have to figure out why my speakers don’t work. Apparently, I plugged something in the wrong spot!

Now, all I need is a good desk lamp. Send me links if you’ve seen something that would look good with my new home office/library!

3 responses to “New addition!

  1. Congrats.. you’ve wanted this longer than dad has wanted grand kids… 🙂

  2. determined1976

    Wonderful!! It´s so nice and I like your whole office!! Congrats!

  3. It is beautiful!!! YOU should treat yourself…………like a QUEEN!! you deserve it.
    VERY CLASSY!

Leave a Reply

