Farmer’s Market Ratatouille

There are three things I love about the Farmer’s Market:

1. Everything is grown locally in a field and tastes so much better than what I buy in the grocery store (except for the one place that charges an arm and a leg for greenhouse-grown tomatoes that are tasteless).

2. It’s cheap. I once got zucchini for 50 cents a pound.

3. You can find some interesting things, like this:

A round zucchini (surprisingly few seeds), an Italian eggplant (nice thin skin that you don't need to peel) and a Cazzucca or Italian Squash (similar to zucchini with a firmer texture and a bit of a citrus bite).

A round zucchini (surprisingly few seeds), an Italian eggplant (nice thin skin that you don't need to peel) and a Cazzucca or Italian Squash (similar to zucchini with a firmer texture and a bit of a citrus bite).

 

These sat in my fridge for a couple days before I figured out what to do with them. Ratatouille!! Kinda.

I chopped them all up (you have to peel the cazzucca first) and put them in a large pan with 2 fresh chopped tomatoes, 3 cloves of garlic, a handful of fresh parsley, a splash of chicken broth, a half of a chopped red onion and 5 TBS of tomato sauce (I keep it frozen, ice cube sized, for when I just need a little bit). And, of course, salt and fresh ground pepper.

While I was doing that I also sauteed 93% lean ground chicken that I flavored with fennel, Italian seasonings, garlic and red pepper flakes so it tasted like sausage.

I added it to the veggies, summered it until the flavores blended and the veggies were tender and then tossed it with fresh grated romano cheese and whole wheat pasta.

mmmmmmmm...

mmmmmmmm...

It was amazing! And quite simple. So go out to the Farmer’s Market and try something new–you might be surprised.

One response to “Farmer’s Market Ratatouille

  1. LOVE how your dish turned out! Great idea about freezing the sauce too! 😀

Leave a Reply

