Major calorie deficit

Planning is going to be clutch as I continue training for the Breast Cancer 3-Day. Thursday, I did my first official 10 mile walk (you may remember I did a practice 10-miler back in May before officially starting this training plan). I did it all in a row, but I really think that for anything more than 8 miles, I need to break it up into 2 or more sessions. Here’s what I did:

  • 30 minutes at 3.5mph
  • 30 minutes at 4mph
  • 30 minutes at 3.5 mph
  • 30 minutes at 4 mph
  • and then the last two miles were at 3-3.5 mph (started at 3.5mph and gradually worked down to 3.0mph)

I burned 1600 calories.

I had “only” eaten 2000 calories throughout the day–3 meals, 2 snacks and a McD’s ice cream cone to celebrate all that walking.

Net calories: 357. That’s pretty bad.

I still had to do a 6 mile training walk Friday, so I needed to plan to eat at least 2500-3000 calories to keep a healthy (1200-1500) net and to make up for yesterday’s severe deficit. Didn’t happen. Thanks to fatigue and DQ being closed (I didn’t promise I’d get in 100% healthy calories), I ended up with a net of 900-1000.

Thanks to that, I was hungry all day (seriously–every 2-3 hours my belly would start growling) Friday and Saturday. Finally, Saturday, I caught up and my hunger levels have been quite managable ever since; however, it will be interesting to see the impact this will have on my weight. Typically, the response is not good because my metabolism bottoms out or I retain water or whatever forces happen to stabilize my weight or *gasp!* result in a gain.

Friday’s WW weigh-in showed the scales up 0.2lbs even though my own scale showed a loss that morning. I’ll be out of town for a wedding Thursday through Sunday, so my next WI won’t happen until Monday at the earliest.

Goals for this week are pretty simple:

Sleep at least 7 hours. This seems to be enough for me, as I’ve been naturally waking before the alarm clock goes off.

Understand that I need to cut myself some slack on the food and exercise schedule since it’s training season and I’m working longer hours than normal. What does cutting myself some slack mean? Spin on Tuesday and Thursday, gym (elliptical/weights/StairMill from hell) Wednesday night and walking/hiking in Ithaca over the weekend. Fortunately, my training walks are only 5 and 6 miles this weekend. Easy! As for a food perspective, I need to eat lunches and dinners with my staff. Breakfasts will be normal (egg, cheese, Arnold’s Sandwich thin–it never gets boring), snacks are already in the office fridge (fat free Greek yogurt with a tsp of honey and fresh fruit). While I join my staff for dinner, I may choose to eat at home. I have a feta/brown rice dish and minestrone soup that should last through the week.

Overall, July was a successful month:

  • Weight: unchanged. No loss, no gain.
  • worked out 26 out of 31 days
  • walked 67 miles
  • took 11 spin classes
  • did weights 7 times and abs 4 times (not enough, but not bad considering my schedule these days)

I’m not really setting any huge expectations for August. I want to get in most of my training walks, I want to maintain my weight, I want to get to the gym at least 3-5 days a week, I want to eat as well as possible.

2 responses to “Major calorie deficit

  1. That’s quite a bit of work you did yesterday! I love seeing your monthly accomplishments; I think I’m going to have to steal that for this coming month.

    Good luck with the training schedule and getting enough calories in. It’s so important! (But you already know that).

  2. July looks like it was a great success, even if you don’t feel 100% that way. You really motivate me! Good luck with August and your training schedules! p.s. Have some DQ for me – I so miss DQ!

Leave a Reply

