foodie excitement

The past month, I’ve eaten two to three meals a day in a college dining hall with my students. Now that I have the opportunity to cook for myself, I feel like I’ve been released from jail into Martha Stewart’s kitchen. Come to think of it, that’s probably how she felt once upon a time…

Tonight, I’m thinking of making a stir fry with a locally grown white eggplant I bought at the grocery store.

This weekend, I’m trying to convince Evan to pick one of the following options for our dinners Saturday and Sunday:

  • Tacos with homemade guac and a corn tomato salad with fresh produce from the Farmer’s Market
  • Spinach-pesto shrimp with angel hair
  • Spicy coconut steamed shrimp with mango couscous (from my Top Chef cookbook!)

Monday, I’m going to make Vietnamese pork-lettuce roll ups with a rice wine dressing, shredded carrot, English cuke, cabbage, red peppers and cellophane noodles.

I didn’t end up making it to the gym last night. I just realized how bone-tired I was, so I went for a little walk instead. And then I watched a movie and got a full 8.5 hours of sleep. It’s the first time this month that I’ve gotten more than 7 consecutive hours of sleep.

Tonight IS the gym. It’s also house-cleaning night and Farmer’s Market night. This weekend (maybe even tomorrow), I will start posting my eats on my food blog. I’m on my way….

One response to “foodie excitement

  1. brittaaaaaany c

    have you seen the website http://www.cookthink.com/ ??

Leave a Reply

