walkin’ on sunshine

Today was one of those perfect weather days that made it feel like fall was really here. The air was crisp and it was on the cool side–the perfect weather for an outdoor walk.

All summer, I’ve wanted to walk along the Delaware Raritan River Canal. It’s a beautiful trail about 10 miles from my house. It’s flat, shady, pretty and peaceful. Unfortunately, we had strange summer weather this year–it poured most of June and the rest of the summer was super hot and humid.

So today I went for a 2-hour walk (probably 6.5-7.5 miles).

Here are some of the beautiful views I experienced:

 

 

 

The above photo shows part of a series of fitness jungle-gym type things. The cross-shaped thing is a log jump, the slanted unit is something you hop over. They also had pull up bars and places to stretch your hamstrings.

And, then, every once in awhile you come across something that reminds you that you’re out in the wild:

This is my new friend–almost my new enemy. It’s a copperhead snake that slithered out on the walkway and was hiding out. I was within inches of stepping on it because I was so busy checking out the pretty views. I noticed a movement out of the corner of my eye as I stepped over it. Of course, it scared me, but I was more curious than anything else, so I snapped a pic on my cell phone. It was about 2 feet long. Pretty peaceful. I think I was more scared after going home, looking it up and realizing it was a copperhead and known for biting people who accidentally step on it. And, yes, it’s venomous, but not deadly.

On the plus side, I started wearing my Bodybugg again and burned 3300 calories throughout the day yesterday–1200 of those calories were burned on my walk.

2 responses to “walkin’ on sunshine

  1. forthrightfattie

    Holy cow–if I saw that snake I would probably break personal speek records.

  2. I love the photos! The duckies are adorable but the copperhead…. AAAAAAGHHH!!! I’d probably still be freaking out. I’m glad you survived your wildlife encounter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

