Just what the doctor ordered

This weekend, I was supposed to attend a writer’s conference in Atlantic City. I was excited to go, but also just really wanted to stay home and veg out after the past 6 or 7 busy weekends.

Well, the Writer’s Conference was a bust. I drove an hour and a half down there, registered and paid, only to walk out of there 15 minutes later–with my registration check in hand. It was supposed to be a 2-day conference for $115 with a book fair, two tracks (business and writing), approximately 6 sessions per track and with a wide variety of writing types/styles/genres represented. The big finale was supposed to be Pitch-A-Palooza, an opportunity for attendees to pitch their book and get feedback from an agent. There were very few professionals that were in the same genre as me (blogger, health/fitness writing, memoirist), but I decided that between Pitch-A-Palooza, a blogger session and a memoir session, it would be worth the money and time.
 
When I got there, I learned that the blogger session was cancelled because the author was ill, and Pitch-A-Palooza was quietly dropped from the schedule because “the agent ” (ummm, nice, but there were supposed to be two or three) bailed. Weeks ago. Also, the book fair (and many of the attendees) were fantasy writers. Totally not my gig.
 
So, I pulled the coordinator aside and said “I mean no disrespect, but the conference you have here today, isn’t the one I was expecting. I can’t commit $115 and my entire weekend for a conference that has one session of interest to me.” And I got my money and left.
 
I felt bad, but the weekend ended up being MUCH better. I stopped at a farm stand on the way home and bought tons of tomatoes, an eggplant, onions, sweet potatoes and eggs. I made a batch of fresh spaghetti sauce and turkey meatballs. I’ll have eggplant parm later in the week. I also headed to the gym and got in a 7+ mile walk.
 
Today, I relaxed, cleaned the house, and ran to the mall to update my fall wardrobe. Now, I’m watching Sideways and, of course, sipping a glass of red wine. I love the new fall clothes I bought! For under $200, I purchased:
  • a pumpkin-colored cowl neck top
  • 3 pairs of Worthington dress pants (black, charcoal plaid and chocolate herringbone)
  • 3 tops (2 white and a green) for layering
  • a white ruffly tank for layering
  • a deep purple corduroy jacket with ruffle trim
  • a khaki vest
  • 2 shaper camis
  • a long sleeve teal knit top
The only thing I think I need are a couple sweaters (saw some at Old Navy but won’t buy them til they’re on sale) and a wide belt. I have a lot of shirts that are pretty baggy around the waist–a good belt would really help me add some shape to these tops and slim me down.
 
I finally feel rested–despite spending today cleaning the house, digging out my fall clothes, doing 5 loads of laundry and running errands. I slept a good 10 hours last night and hope to squeak in a full 8 tonight. Gotta get to the gym in the morning tomorrow! After work, I’m picking up Evan from the airport. 
 
In order to better manage my stress, anxiety and attitude, I’ve decided to start noting my accomplishments on a weekly basis. I’m taking time out on Sundays to plan for the upcoming week but reflect on the previous week.
 
Last Week’s Achievements:
  • Got stress back under control
  • Developed a plan to manage additional workload
  • Got back on my regular (5 days a week) workout schedule
  • Walked 13 miles in 2.5 days
  • Lost the mysterious 3 lbs I gained the previous week
 
This Week’s Plan:
 
Goal: To get fully back to “normal”
 
Breakfasts:
  • Fiber One English Muffin Egg/Cheese sandwiches
  • Smoothie swith skim milk, frozen fruit, Greek Yogurt or protein powder
  • Oats with egg white or protein powder
 
Snacks:
  • Raw veggies with cheese or hummus
  • FF Greek yogurt with fresh berries
 
Monday:
Workout: (morning) 45-60 minutes on the elliptical
Dinner: out
PM plans: pick up E from the airport
 
Tuesday:
Workout: (evening) 45 minutes on the elliptical or 45 minute run/walk
Dinner: turkey meatball leftovers, salad
PM plans: Weight Watchers
 
Wednesday:
Workout: (morning) 45 minutes on the elliptical or 45 minute run/walk
Dinner: not sure… either baked eggplant parm or out with E
PM plans: E and I are meeting friends to watch Glee & Top Chef
 
Thursday:
Workout: rest day
Dinner: eggplant parm and salad
PM plans: duty
 
Friday:
Workout: 5 mile walk in morning, 7 mile walk in evening
Dinner: leftovers
PM plans: none yet…
 
Saturday:
Workout: 10 mile walk (maybe at Valley Forge State Park?)
One response to “Just what the doctor ordered

  1. I think you are a wise girl with regard to how you handled the conference. I’m so glad you got to use your weekend in a more relaxing way. I’m also so jealous of your new clothes. I need to do some shopping myself!

Leave a Reply

