a week of temptations

Full confession: the past week has been so off-track and unbalanced, I don’t even deserve to call myself a wellness blogger.

I won’t bore you with the details, but let’s just say that all but maybe 4 hours of my work week was spent in meetings and I had afterwork commitments (both fun and business) EVERY night last week. This weekend, Evan and I filled Saturday by working at a craft fair, collapsing for a much-needed hour long nap and then went to the Plain White Ts/Snow Patrol concert at the Tower Theater. Sunday? Visiting his family and a friend we hadn’t seen in awhile followed by grocery shopping and me getting stuck in a traffic jam, which turned the normally 40 minute commute between Evan’s and my house into an hour and a half long debacle.

I didn’t plan well and had several lunch “breaks” where I slipped into my old habits: working straight through them or grabbing an unsatisfying and less than ideal convenience meal (ie: bagel with light cream cheese) that I’d eat at my desk as I tried to prevent the paperwork from piling up.

All of that goes SO against my personal philosophy of having a solid work/life balance and making good food and fitness decisions that fuel the body for the day-to-day grind. This week I will do better.  

On the plus side last week? I fit in three workouts (it would have been 5 if the weather changes would stop wreaking havoc on my back!) and got 7+ hours of sleep on all but one day. I even did morning workouts, knowing that my evenings were committed.

This week is busy, but at least I can sequester myself in my apartment most evenings, which makes a huge difference in helping me feel balanced. Seriously… even my cat is nervously following me around today, meowing this poor, pitiful howl of neglect.

What’s on this week’s agenda?

My parents have very kindly decided to have a garage sale this weekend, donating the proceeds to the fundraising I’m doing for the Breast Cancer 3-Day. I am WAY behind in raising the $2300 I need in order to walk; however, I have this event and at least one other big event coming up (plus another round of requesting individual donations). So far, I’ve raised about $750.

In addition to the garage sale, my sister and I are putting our mad baking skillz to use and cooking up some treats to sell. On my list:

  • Chili Lime Chex Mix (I totally made up this recipe after being inspired at Trader Joe’s and will post later because it is addictingly good. Now that I know it’s sell-able, it’s being packaged for the sale and placed out of sight and out of mind!)
  • Brandied Cranberry & White Chocolate Cookies (Due to a limited bar selection, I subbed cognac for the brandy–ultra-yum!)
  • some kinda of molass-y or ginger-y cookie (maybe hermits?)
  • Possibly this banana bundt cake
  • Some kind of apple bar, muffin or treat.

My sister is taking on the chocolate goods, as well as a popcorn snack mix and possibly an apple dessert.

I will not eat all the leftovers. I repeat, I will not eat all the leftovers.

The leftovers will come back to NJ with me and be brought into my work or Evan’s work, possibly accompanied by a collection jar for those who want to donate. (Scroll down to the end of this post if you want to cut to the chase and figure out how to help.)

It’s real. It’s really real. In 18 more days, I will be walking 60 miles. For my personal fitness challenge of 2009 and for a really, really good cause.

Now… for this week’s plan:

  • Breakfasts: homemade egg sandwiches or oats with an egg white or protein powder mix-in
  • Snack options: veggies and hummus, yogurt, apples with peanut butter

TONIGHT:

  • dinner: BLATs (bacon, lettuce, avocado and tomato) on Ezekial bread
  • workout: 20 minutes on the StairMill from hell and a 10 minute brisk walk

TUESDAY:

  • dinner: the best ever butternut squash soup
  • workout: 30 minutes on the elliptical and 15 minute brisk walk, 15 minutes abs and 15 minutes yoga/stretching routine (my back and hamstrings have been cranky lately)
  • PM commitments: campus program, baking and Fat Bridesmaid’s TBL Liveblog

WEDNESDAY:

  • dinner: light ravioli, spinach, salad, oven baked chicken parm tenders
  • workout: morning 2 mile/30 minute walk, running up and down stairs packing my car with garage sale goodies (my old desk, car tires, etc.)
  • PM commitments: watching Top Chef, packing the car and dinner with Evan

THURSDAY:

  • dinner: leftovers
  • workout: 20 minutes StairMill, 20 minute walk, 20 minute elliptical, 20 minute stretching/yoga routine
  • PM commitments: baking and packing for the weekend

FRIDAY:

  • workout: 1 hour walk (3.5 miles)
  • PM commitments: Ra Ra Riot concert and dinner with Evan then leave for a late-night trek back to CT. Sure hope I find a Starbucks that’s opened late!

Somewhere, somehow, I need to fit in WW. The scales showed a 0.4lb loss last week which I may have destroyed with convenience eating the next few days. It would be easy to skip an official WI, but I gotta make sure I’m on track and accountable.

If you’re still paying attention and you want to support my walk and the future of healthy boobs and healthy ladies (and men!) then please consider one of the following:

1. Donate directly by clicking here. ALL of the money I raise go to the Komen Foundation and the National Philanthropic Trust for Breast Cancer. NONE of the money raised goes towards overhead costs. My application fee covered those!

2. If you live in Connecticut and love a good garage sale, stop by my parents’ house and either buy some cookies or a purse (I got a Michael Kors purse up for grabs!) or whatever else is slated for sale. It’s Saturday, October 3 from 9am to 3pm at 39 Bolivia Street, Willimantic, CT. The rain date is October 10th. Same time, same place.

And I don’t know if this helps or not, but I just sampled a test cookie. The brandied cranberry and white chocolate cookies may just be amongst the best I’ve ever eaten!

Leave a Reply

