I am not freaking out. I repeat: I am NOT freaking out

Ummmm, yeah, so Weight Watchers was a bust tonight. I rocked a 5 lb weight gain since Friday. That’s right. I said it. A GAIN. An even five pounds or, for those mathmatically oriented folks out there: 17,500 calories.

I realize I didn’t have the best diet the past few days and I know that not working out Friday through Sunday wasn’t the smartest thing to do, but 17,500 calories is a hell of a lot of Chex Mix and DQ Blizzards that I should have been enjoying instead of counting calories and ensuring I had at least a small calorie deficit each day.

Last I checked, a calorie deficit of 129, 238, 977 and 500-ish equalled at least a quarter pound lost. Unfortunately, I know my diet was a little high in sodium, had too many carbs and not enough protein and produce. And the PMS is starting to hit hard, as evidenced by my cougar-like gaze towards anything that smells vaguely of chocolate, fat or delicious saltiness. Just the thought of Paula Deen makes me weak in the knees this time of the month.

So, I did what every normal girl would do. Curl up on my couch with a pint of New York Super Fudge Chunk and a well-worn copy of The Notebook with a box of tissues on my lap. I went to the gym and walked my bloated ass off during The Biggest Loser. I got there a little late, so I didn’t get the 2 hours I had hoped for, but I DID walk 5 miles in 81 minutes. That’s a pace just a tad over 16 minutes per mile. And I wasn’t dripping sweat and gasping for air, nor was I tired, sore or exhausted afterwards.

And I had a little epiphany. I just have to do that 4 times a day during the Breast Cancer 3-Day. The walk is 10 days from today and although I’m terribly excited, the nervousness is growing. By leaps and bounds. Tonight, despite the crappy weigh-in, the all-too-scary number on the scale, the feelings of no control and no power and just general irritation that crazy-eyed, dumbass Tracey wasn’t kicked of the Biggest Loser ranch yet, I felt like there was something–SOMETHING–that I know I can do. And I’m ready.

BTW, I walked more than 13,000 steps, burned more than 3,000 calories and had a deficit of more than 1,000 calories today. Game On!

6 responses to “I am not freaking out. I repeat: I am NOT freaking out

  1. Hii! I just found your blog from Krissies (you gave good music selections hahaha) so I thought I’d stop by and say hello! Don’t stress about the 5 pounds (I know a LOT easier said than done) and just keep WALKING! 5 miles is awesome!

  2. Britttttttttttt C

    I HATE TRACEY!

  3. Thanks for stopping by and saying hi, Jeannie! (I LOVE it when Krissie blogs about good tunes.)

    Britt–you need to join my gym so we can workout and discuss TBL together!

  4. Britttttttttttt C

    Tina, since I’m living at home I’ve been going to a gym here in Manalapan but I do teach in Trenton so I’m always around TCNJ. I joined a TBL challenge on thedailyplate.com so I’m trying to keep my word. I think I remember seeing you with a bodybugg… do you like it? I was thinking of investing in one. Also, I kept forgetting to donate but I finally did today- best of luck I’m with you all the way sistafriend!

  5. I am with you on Tracy! All her crazy eye moves – I wonder what’s really going on in her head.

    Drink lots of water, that should help with the sodium. And when I walk on the treadmill I am usually watching FoodTV! 😀

  6. It is SO impressive that you had that response to a 5 pound gain. So many people (myself included, sometimes) would’ve used it as an excuse to overeat, but you didn’t. You worked so hard. I’m incredibly proud of you!

Leave a Reply

