Hooray for Boobies!

Forgive the befuddled thoughts… I left work early due to a sinus infection that made even the simplest tasks impossible. After spending 30 minutes sifting through and deleting e-mails, all I managed to do is shrink my account from 98% full to 94% full.

I’ve called my doc to refill a prescription for nasal sprays with the expectation (and desperate, desperate hope) that I will be back to normal BEFORE Friday’s 3-Day starts. Today, I printed my credentials, the map and all the materials I’ll need for Friday. I am so excited… especially since I’VE MET MY MINIMUM FUNDRAISING GOAL!

Yup… the garage sale and bake sale was a HUGE success. The local paper ran a 10″ article about my sister and I and our quest to fundraise enough to participate in the walk. Word of mouth spread quickly once people realized how good the baked goods were. I thought for sure we baked too much. We had:

  • Apple-maple muffins
  • Chili lime Chex mix
  • Double decker pumpkin bread with a cream cheese layer
  • Pumpkinseed toffee bark
  • Hermits
  • pumpkin cupcakes with cinnamon buttercream frosting
  • chocolate cherry ginger bars
  • mint brownies
  • peanut butter brownies
  • Cognac Cranberry White Chocolate Chip cookies
  • Cognac Cherry Dark Chocolate cookies
  • Samoas bars
  • Muddy Buddy mix

They were gone long before we were ready to wrap up the garage sale.

TONS of people came to the sale. I used to deliver the local paper–several of my former customers stopped by to say hi, see how we were doing in the 10-20 years since they last saw us and support the fundraising efforts by purchasing items from the sale or giving flat-out donations. We received so many compliments–about how awesome it was we were doing this walk and fundraising, about how good our desserts were and those gushy compliments like “Oh–you’ve grown up to be such a beautiful young woman” which totally makes me feel all like an awkward tweener again. I got to catch up with friends from high school and visit family. I learned that a neighbor’s two sisters were breast cancer survivors and that a male relative had breast cancer. I saw a long-lost family friend for the first time in close to 20 years–she drove more than an hour to stop by and support us. Despite the hard work, it felt like a weekend-long celebration. And according to my Bodybugg, I burned more than 3,000 calories Saturday with no formal exercise, simply from helping to set up the garage sale, wandering around our back yard all day to help people and cleaning up after the event.

Despite coming back physically feeling under the weather due to the sinuses, I am soooo motivated to walk and to experience such a phenomenal event. Our team is VERY close to raising a total of $10,000 and I still have another fundraising event that could push us over our goal.

If you still are interested in donating, please know that all proceeds go to support the Susan G. Komen Foundation and the National Philanthropic Trust’s breast cancer initiatives.

Now… I’m off to drink some more fluids, take some more meds and snooze in front of the Project Runway marathon on Lifetime, in an attempt to kick these germs to the curb.

2 responses to “Hooray for Boobies!

  1. White pants are the BEST! I was scared of them for a long time too… but I think they look really flattering on people! Why were we so scared of them?? hahaha. CONGRATS! And also GREAT WORK with the bake/garage sale! That’s awesome. I can’t wait to hear all about the 3 day.

  2. I admire you so much for participating in this event! Such determination to be able to complete something like that.

    Yay you!!!!

Leave a Reply

