I Love Veggies Week: Cauliflower lovin’

I love the food blog Serious Eats and try to check it on a daily basis. They regularly get link-happy with recipes for fresh produce that’s in season–and they haven’t done me wrong yet! (Additionally, the blog features posts by people in the restaurant industry, food television highlights, links to foodie articles and news in a variety of magazines and newspapers, posts on food from restaurants all over the country and even has a foodie weight loss blog.)

Last night I tried a cauliflower recipe I found on the site this week. I’ve never really cared for the albino-ish veg even though I love it’s colorful relative, broccoli, but lately I’ve discovered that all of those bland veggies I never used to care for are actually pretty damn good when given the same love and attention typical of protein and carb entrees. So I’ve started a new thing: I’m building dishes around veggies, instead of building a dish around a carb or a protein. It allows me to rediscover a veggie and develop a new loving relationship with it.

Last night’s recipe was Cauliflower with Mushrooms and Bacon from Barbara Kafka’s Vegetable Love cookbook, and you can find the recipe here. We served it with steak, oven-baked sweet potato fries and steamed spinach.

The perfect plate! 1/4 protein, 1/4 carbs and 1/2 veggies!

The perfect plate! 1/4 protein, 1/4 carbs and 1/2 veggies!

This week, the focus of my blog is veggies. I’ll post a new recipe featuring healthy, in season produce at least three days this week. Expect to see more cauliflower, butternut squash and apples (I’m going apple picking Wednesday, weather permitting!)

3 responses to “I Love Veggies Week: Cauliflower lovin’

  1. Britttttttttttt C

    tina tina tina! cauliflower is FANTASTIC! you should try (instead of mashed potatoes) mashed cauliflower. it’s super fantastic. also, in chile, we always used to eat cauliflower casserole with ground beef, and squash/pumpkin but i’m thinking you could do a cauliflower casserole with squash, zucchini, pumpkin, and maybe ground turkey (depending on how lean it is). i also have a super amazing vegetarian cookbook http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1843092298/ref=ox_ya_oh_product which focuses on the vegetables being the forefront and not just side dishes. it also doesn’t rely on tempeh and tofu for protein, but highlights how awesome veggies are! if you want to borrow it, i have class at tcnj tomorrow night!

  2. roasted cauliflower is one of my absolute favorites – so simple to make and it tastes so much better and so much different that the typical steamed way we are too used to seeing cauliflower. cauliflower has gotten a bad rep for too long now.

  3. Pingback: The produce pusher… « Downsized!

Leave a Reply

