I Love Veggies Week: I could eat this for dessert…

I am sitting at my desk at home sipping a final cup of coffee before I have to leave for work. It seems like overnight we went from hot weather, humdity and sunlight from 5:30am until 9pm to rainy gray days, delayed sunrises and premature sunsets. It’s definitely making it more difficult for me to get out of bed and get going in the morning. (But don’t get me wrong, I’m insanely excited for the holidays!)

Today is the day I finally get my flu shot. I’ve been calling my doctor’s office since mid-September waiting for them to get vaccinations in. I work with college students. They’ve been fighting the flu since April, when I believe we had our first student get ill with the flu “this season.” Since then, we’ve had dozens of cases. I consider it a minor miracle and a product of my good diet and handwashing regimen that has prevented me from getting sick despite the number of times I’ve likely been exposed.

This is also why I tend to be that one who makes the veggie sides for potlucks. Inevitably, there are plenty of appetizers, entrees and desserts, but rarely do I see a veggie at a potluck.

Sunday, I made one of my favorite fall veggies dishes for a pot-luck dinner party Evan and I attended: Maple-glazed butternut squash with craisins and bacon. I made this recipe up, although I’m sure there are similar recipes out there.

My family’s way of making butternut squash is typically by steaming and mashing it. BO-RING! No wonder I was never excited about it as a kid. Roasting the squash draws out the flavor. The maple, craisin and bacon compliments the flavors and packs a punch to the taste buds. Also, it looks pretty!

Butternut squash is high in Vitamin A and Vitamin C. It's also a good source of Vitamin B-6. Those on low-carb diets should be aware that this is one of the higher carb vegetables.

Butternut squash is high in Vitamin A and Vitamin C. It's also a good source of Vitamin B-6. Those on low-carb diets should be aware that this is one of the higher carb vegetables.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cubed into 1″ pieces
  • 2 slices of bacon, cut in 1/4″ pieces
  • a handful of craisins
  • 2-4 TBS of real maple syrup
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Cook the bacon on medium-low heat in a large, oven-safe pan, stirring occassionally until crisp.
  2. Remove bacon from the pan, reserving the drippings.
  3. Add the squash and craisins to the pan, stirring until it’s coated with the bacon drippings. Add 2 TBS of maple syup.
  4. Bake 20-30 minutes until the squash is tender.
  5. Toss with the bacon. Add salt and pepper to taste.  Add a little more maple syrup, if necessary.

Are you a fan of veggies? If so, you may want to click on over to Carrots-n-Cake to enter a Cambell’s veg-a-rrific giveaway and congratulate her on her new job!

Tonight’s veggie love at my house will be my own version of Applebee’s Chicken Oriental Salad and a secret soup. Stay tuned for recipes later this week!

One response to “I Love Veggies Week: I could eat this for dessert…

  1. Just make sure to have some protein and fat with your vegetables. Proteins, carb and fats in all meals.

Leave a Reply

