I am thankful for…

I am thankful that I only lost 0.2lbs at Chubb Clubb this week. I weighed in Wednesday afternoon before getting on the road to make the 4+ hour trek back to Connecticut.

I couldn’t have asked for a better scale result. A gain would have made me think “F*ck it!” and would have resulted in a turkey free-for-all. Similarly, a large loss would have made me feel on top of the world, invincible and deserving of a Thanksgiving indulgence.

So… this is my perfect medium. It’s also my third week in a row of logging a loss and keeps me on track for my average 0.5lbs a week loss between the first week of November and New Years.

My strategy for today’s celebration:

  • No wine… I’m driving back to Jerz after dinner, so I don’t need the combined sleepyhead effects of booze, tryptophan and overeating.
  • Turkey. White meat. Love it. And it’s probably the healthiest thing on the plate.
  • 2 TBS of mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes and anything else I deem as “good” but not “great.” That’s less than a serving and enough to make me feel like I had the experience.
  • Full servings of stuffing, butternut squash and other sides that I can’t help but fall in love with.
  • Also, my grandmother is the queen of cutting 1″ slices of pie. Small enough to allow variety (pumpkin, pear/cranberry and pecan) without hitting a wall of sugar.
  • Water, water, water. To flush out the extra sodium, stave off the carb coma and keep me walking (to the bathroom at least).

Post-Thanksgiving Success Plan

  • Black Friday window shopping. I don’t see any great sales, nor do I want to wait in mile long lines, but the walk it good exercise and will help me get my Christmas spirit on.
  • After that: online shopping for gifts. Not having to deal with traffic and long lines will free up my time to maintain my workouts and making healthy meals.
  • Continuing the habit of indulging in only what is great and not necessarily what is just good.
  • Also: plenty of non-food-related traditions like creating perfectly wrapped gifts, homemade gift tags, watching holiday movies and putting up the tree.

What did you do to keep portions in check and limit Armageddon-like holiday damages?

4 responses to “I am thankful for…

  1. Britttttttttttt C

    i planned out what i was going to eat before i got there and how much of it i was going to eat. i drank a lot of water, and made sure to exercise in the morning during the parade. i wanted it to be a normal day of eating, not a binge fest. it was the first year i was not stuffed or even full. i was comfortable and within my limits. howeverrrrrr on black friday, i got up, went shopping, ate out twice (!!) and felt so full of salt (even though i ate salads both times) that i was uncomfortable by the end of the day. i’m kind of sad because i would usually weigh in today, but it was that time of the month all week and EVEN though i worked out extra hard this week and had deficits everyday, i’m battling my own body and am boasting a 3-5 lb gain. should i wait until a week after that time of the month to see what my real weight is!? i’m so confused!! sorry for all the tmi but you’re like my guru.

  2. Great work, Brit!!

    Don’t worry about this week’s WI. Just continue to drink water, eat healthy and exercise. Maybe consider reducing your sodium intake this week to ensure you don’t go over. You’ll see the loss by next week 🙂

    Yes… I HATE eating out thanks to all the salt they toss in food. It’s makes getting an accurate WI impossible.

    How do you track your weight? You may want to consider having a notes section with your weight loss tracker so you can “explain” significant losses or gains. For example, on my weight loss tracker, I noted on one of the weeks I gained that it was the Breast Cancer 3-Day and I had walked 60 miles, which can lead to an artificial gain. Or a few years ago, I hit a plateau and suddenly started losing again–I noted that I had just started spin classes this week, which potentially helped me break that plateau.

    Generally, I try not to pay too much attention to the weekly weigh ins and instead focus my attention on my monthly results. It’s too easy for me to get frustrated by weight fluctuations. It’s the big picture that matters more (eg: do I weigh less this month than I did last month?).

    BTW, did you use the Bodybugg for Black Friday shopping? How many calories did you burn? I LOVE seeing how something as simple and rewarding as shopping can net a really good calorie burn when you do it for so many hours!

  3. Britttttttttttt C

    i track weight on bodybugg, but idk maybe i need a journal to track it as well. does working out a lot lead to an artificial gain?!

  4. I’m not exactly sure of the science or what defines “a lot” but yes, excessive workouts can possibly create a gain. Here’s an article that explains some of it.

    Also, if this lasts for several weeks, you may want to see a dietician. You may need to change your diet to keep up with your workouts.

Leave a Reply

