My New Diet!

For 33 years, I lived a cavity-free life with sparkly teeth. And then I decided not to go to the dentist for a few years. At first, it was because I didn’t have insurance and then I simply avoided it and consoled myself that my twice a day brushing, weekly flossing and daily mouthwash regimine would hold me over. And that’s when I got my first cavity–actually, make that two.

So, it’s fair to say that I was fairly anxious about getting them filled today (with enamel-colored fillings, so my lax dental health years will go largely unnoticed).

For the most part, it wasn’t bad. They numbed me up well and when I sensed I needed a little more numbing on one tooth, they quickly stopped and numbed it more. My dentist was super-cute. And he grew up about a half an hour away from where I was born. We commiserated about the drive back home as he waited for my mouth to get numb. And, boy, do I mean my WHOLE mouth.

I had a cavity on the lower left side of my mouth and another on the upper right side; therefore, my entire face below my nose was numb from 10am until 2:30pm. Yup. Four and a half hours of feeling as if my face was detached from my head.

I sipped a nonfat latte from Starbucks and attempted to eat some mushy pasta at the dining hall. I was hungry but couldn’t eat. It was the oddest feeling.

It would be a great diet. But in exchange, you have to submit to your colleagues laughing at you when you attempt to smile and one side of your mouth doesn’t move. And you have to feel the humility of having someone tell you you’ve dripped cheese or coffee down your chin.

I’ve since managed to eat a yogurt and drink tons of water, but I’m not sure what dinner will bring. It’s kinda achy and sore now, so I just took some Tylenol.

My lunchless afternoon may have helped, but it’s certainly not solely responsible for my 0.8 lb loss at Chubb Clubb this week.

For the record, that means I’ve lost 3.2 lbs in the past 4 weeks. Hoor-freakin’-RAY!

The funny thing is, I haven’t done anything special. I haven’t even really planned. My non-plan has been this:

1. It’s a stressful week with lots of commitments during my work day, lots of evening commitments for work and little down time. Because of this, I’ve made sure to be in bed by 10pm daily.

2. Exercise has been regular but easy and relaxing. I’m typically walking and trying to squeak in three weight routines.

3. I’m not overthinking food. I’m simply making healthy choices, ensuring that at least half my plate is full of vegetables at lunch and dinner, snacking sensibly and eating only when hungry.

4. When stress pushes me towards a kitchen free-for-all at the end of the day, I have a cup of minty decaf tea, brush my teeth and go to bed.

That’s it. No tracking. Limited Bodybugging. No excessive meal plans. No workouts more than an hour long. And it’s working for now. As long as that’s the case, I’ll keep it that way.

I think the reason why my weight was wildly swinging back and forth before is that my body was struggling to manage the intensity of my workouts, a stringent diet, insufficient sleep and stress from work and from the frustration of having unpredictable fluctuations on the scale.

You may remember my holiday season weight loss promise. I’m still committed to losing an average of 1/2 pound a week. I’m not expecting anything more and I’m not accepting any less. So far, it’s happening with an average of 0.8lbs a week.

This is making me much less likely to do this:

Leave a Reply

