‘Twas the week after Christmas

Who was I kidding when I thought that I’d get back into a regular blogging schedule thanks to two weeks off around the holidays. Already half of my vacation is over and this is the first time I’ve blogged in two weeks!

Anyhew… the past two weeks have been busy but a blast! Some highlights:

  • Spending hours Tuesday up to my ears in gift wrap, since I had saved all of my wrapping for the last minute.
  • Getting to Connecticut Wednesday evening, just in time for some homemade tomato bisque soup that my mom made, high end champagne a family friend brought over and delicious gourmet paninis my sister put together.
  • Christmas Eve at Grandma and Grandpa’s house! We don’t have a formal meal this day, but everyone brings something and we graze all day. We had a gourmet olive tray, veggies and dip, salad (baby spinach, roasted butternut squash, craisins, walnuts and homemade dressing), fresh cut fruit, stromboli, caprese skewers (basil, mozzarella and grape tomatoes), ham, kielbasa, dinner rolls (for mini sandwiches) and sweets galore. I had ham, 2 pieces of stromboli, tons of veggies, a plate full of salad, some fruit, 4-5 olives, 3 mini caprese skewers and a couple cookies. Not bad!
  • We also visited my great grandma Christmas Eve. It was Evan’s first time there, so she gave us a mini tour of her house so he could admire some of her artwork (she used to do oil paintings of landscapes).
  • Christmas Day was spent at home. We got up around 9, ate our traditional breakfast of pepperoni omelet, date nut and other assorted breads and Christmas cookies while opening gifts.

I was shocked by the KitchenAid mixer I got as a combo Christmas/birthday gift from my parents. (My mom said, “You shouldn’t have to wait to get married to get a KitchenAid!”) I was equally flabbergasted that Evan got me a Nook (a gift that he’s been researching, saving up for and giddy about for weeks!).

Additionally, I got some cool artwork by a Philly-area multimedia collage artist, a Boston Derby Dames tee, some bird-themed trinkets (ceramic salt and pepper shakers and a jewelry tree), a quality Santuku knife, delicious spices from Penzey’s, a nut and spice grinder and an assortment of books (Dave Eggers “Where the Wild Things Are,” an autographed copy of Wally Lamb’s “Wishin’ and Hopin’,” and Dr. Jean Twenge’s “Generation Me”) and DVDs (“Up,” “Food, Inc.” and the final season of “the L-Word”).

Due to the predicted weather forecast, Evan and I drove back to NJ Christmas night. It was great in terms of no traffic, but not so great in terms of weather. Tons of rain, some slushy stuff and very few places open after 10pm on Christmas day. I could have REALLY used Starbucks right around midnight!

Since then, I’ve busied myself with trying out my new toys, obsessively watching the L-Word and doing my semi-annual deep cleaning and house organizing.  The tree is down and nearly killed my vacuum due to the number of needles it continued to drop this season.

I’ll be back tomorrow to blog about our Christmas dinner spread. Also coming soon, recipes for cranberry vinaigrette dressing, maple vinaigrette dressing, a spectacular quinoa dish and the best winter salad you will ever eat. Right now, I have to get to the gym for an intense cardio workout, followed by some yoga, before I lose my last bit of motivation.

In the meantime, tell me how the holidays were for you!

4 responses to “‘Twas the week after Christmas

  1. I agree with your mom… What color Kitchenaid did she get you?

    How do you like the Nook?

    Our holidays were snowy with no electricity 😦

  2. Chrome–a true classic color.

    The Nook was on backorder, so unfortunately, I have to wait for it to come in. Supposedly, it will be mailed mid-January. *squee!*

    I’ll always love a white Christmas, but not one bad enough to lose electricity! Love your new place mats and dishes, though 🙂

  3. weightwatchersforone

    I am so jealous that you have this week off- keep enjoying yourself 🙂

    I’m only 25 and so not getting married anytime soon but I already know like half the things I want to register for- a kitchenaid being one of them!! That’s very sweet of your mom to get you one and I hope you cook up some amazing meals/treats in it!

  4. So far, I’ve made Cooking Light’s cinnamon buns, Hungry Girl’s Blueberry muffins and Hungry Girls Apple muffins!

Leave a Reply

