“there is nothing in the world so irresistibly contagious as laughter and good-humour” ~Charles Dickens (A Christmas Carol)

This year, Scrooge, in the form of a diabetes diagnosis for my uncle, attempted to ruin Christmas and all it’s lovely, justifiable-because-it’s-a-holiday extravagances. Instead of letting such a miser suck all the fun out of our holiday, we showed him who’s boss with a delectable pork roast, some incredible quinoa, homemade whole grain bread and a vast array of vegetables that could please even the most finicky of palates. If anything, we had too much.

The menu:

Roast pork (I am not normally a huge pork fan because it tends to dry out easily, but this was tasty and juicy)

Roasted with a rub of olive oil and a half dozen different herbs and spices.

Salad (served with homemade maple vinaigrette)

Mixed greens with diced apple, balsamic glazed walnuts and gorgonzola.

My brother made a delicious buckwheat bread (he even made his own buckwheat flour in his Magic Bullet)

Mmmmmm...

Cauliflower and mushrooms with fresh parsley and bacon

Recipe is from Barbara Kafka's Vegetable Love cookbook and can also be found under the recipe tab above.

Carrots with dill and homemade applesauce with cinnamon and orange peel

The carrots are always a favorite--and so simple. Regular carrots are much more flavorful than baby carrots, I think.

Quinoa with leeks, mushrooms and parmesan

This was another of my sister's contributions, but I plan on recreating it soon.

Roasted asparagus with lemon butter and pecans

Too much lemon zest this time around...

Roasted butternut squash with craisins and bacon

This recipe is also under the recipe tab up above.

Dessert wasn’t as health minded as the rest. A peppermint chocolate pudding cake (made with skim milk, sugar free pudding and Cool Whip), this Guinness gingerbread cake which was amazing the first time I made it, but a little heavy this time around, and my mom’s traditional assortment of homemade Christmas cookies. Sorry for the photo neglect for dessert!

The best part:

Love

Married 58 years and they're still smooching!

And laughter

I think they're laughing because my brother pretended to grab my sister's boob in the previous photo. No, we're not a normal family.

"Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!"

Now that it’s all over, it’s time to catch up on sleep, reflect on my 2009 accomplishments, make some 2010 resolutions and prepare for the new year!

Have a festive, fun and safe New Year’s Eve!

4 responses to ““there is nothing in the world so irresistibly contagious as laughter and good-humour” ~Charles Dickens (A Christmas Carol)

  1. awww Yummy lol you should see my huge platefull on my fb weightloss photo album lol

  2. Nice pics…my dishes look great and so does the food. Glad we got to have it.

  3. That picture of me is terrible…and I don’t recall signing a release. 😛

  4. Bro:
    You released the rights to all embarassing photos to me the day you were born and started torturing me. You’re lucky I didn’t post the other one 🙂

Leave a Reply

