2009 in Review & Looking Ahead to 2010!

It seems like just yesterday Evan and I were celebrating our first Christmas together and I was experiencing my first two Hannukah parties. I was still recovering from back surgery and chomping at the bit for my approved returned to the gym on January 2, 2009. And then I started this blog, as part of a new year resolution to write more. And I joined a writer’s group. And reminded myself to laugh, even though I seemed to experience increased grouchiness and was overstressed at times. Without further ado, here are my highlights of 2009:

1. I started this blog on February 4, 2009 and wrote this entry satire about my Weight Watchers experience. Since then, I’ve written 180+ posts.

2. I participated in my first Foodie Fights challenge.

3. I raised $2400 and walked 60 miles for the Breast Cancer 3-Day. While doing that, I discovered that I liked walking, I went through three pairs of sneakers and I walked hundreds of miles of training walks in the weeks leading up to the big event. Although the first two days were rained out, I made up my miles and my 3-Day experience was still exciting. In fact, I’ve already registered as a volunteer for the 2010 3-Day event in Philly. (See more below.)

4. I saw Food Inc. and read Mark Bittman’s Food Matters which has started to transform my food philosophy.

5. I finally caught on to the Arrested Development craze, just a few years too late, as Evan and I watched each episode from the show over the past year or so. I now greet people by saying “Hi, brotherrrrr,” I wear denim cut-offs while showering and sometimes I hear a Ron Howard voice-over during my own dysfunctional family gatherings.

6. I re-discovered running. And kinda like it.

7. I re-discovered the magic of 3-D movies thanks to Coraline, Up and Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs. Evan also convinced me to see Avatar a couple weekends ago too.

8. My weight is the exact same as it was January 1, 2009. Quite honestly, after bouncing around all year, I’ll take it but I’m not exactly happy with it. I thought I was on a roll in November when I had 4-5 consecutive weeks of little losses, but that all disappeared in December.

9. I realized I fear roller coasters.

10. Evan and I went to a couple weddings, including Deanne & Matt’s which has got to be the most beautiful and intimate wedding I’ve ever attended.

11. I found out my friend is pregnant with her third child. This friend also just found out that their family is relocating from Chicago to Colorado in the next month or so (yay for a new place to visit!).

12. For the first time in my professional career, I have hired and trained ALL of my employees. It’s kinda neat to have a team that you selected, trained and can shape. Although I will be VERY much enjoying my next three days off, I am also excited that my team and I will be presenting at a conference Thursday and having our own retreat on Friday.

13. Although I didn’t go to as many concerts as I did last year (the economy really cut down on the number of bands touring, it seemed), I did manage to see:

  • City & Colour
  • Death Cab for Cutie/Cold War Kids
  • Ra Ra Riot/Maps & Atlases
  • Ani Difranco
  • Regina Spektor
  • Snow Patrol
  • Mae
  • The Dead Milkmen
My goals in 2009 were as follows:
 
Start integrating writing into my life more and work on my book: I did this with moderate success. I joined a writer’s group, wrote several pieces that I read to the group to positive review and constructive criticism. Unfortunately, being overwhelmed at work and training, fundraising and participating in the 3-Day knocked me off my game towards the last half of the year.
 
Lose another 50 lbs. Not. Even. Close. I’m still not sure why. I think my eating might be futher off than I’m admitting. My lack of consistency with taking my metformin, vitamins and other supplements is surely also a factor. I also noticed that my last of weight loss has coincided with me going back on the Pill. Despite the lack of success on the scale, I’ve had numerous health-related successes in place of it:
  • I started eating “cleaner”–fewer manufactured products and more fruits and veggies.
  • I’ve continued to enhance my knowledge of food and nutrition by watching Food Inc. and reading several books, including Mark Bittman’s Food Matters and Bob Greene’s The Best Life Guide to Managing Diabetes and Pre-Diabetes.
  • I’ve decreased my caffeine consumption. I used to have a cup of coffee at home and up to two grande (16oz) nonfat lattes for a total of 40 oz of caffeinated beverages throughout the day. Now I limit myself to an 8-12 oz cup of coffee at home daily and another 8-12 oz cup in the afternoon on occasion (maybe 3 times a week).

Recover from back surgery and ease my way back into the gym. I was given formal approval to return to the gym 1/2/09 by my surgeon and I was pain-free until September 2009. The return of pain knocked me off my game workout-wise at times. I dropped spinning until I could build up better core strength, and I’ve had to accept that I need to take more rest days or do less intense workouts at times. I’ve also learned that my body is more sensitive–my hips and hamstrings tighten ALL the time and seem to be a big reason for back pain. And as much as I make fun of my mother and grandmother for this, my back can now predict weather changes at least 24 hours before Weather.com can! (It’s not as fun as it sounds, but perhaps I have a future in meteorology.)

Participate in the 2009 Philly 3-Day, walk ALL 60 miles and raise at least $2300 for breast cancer research and education efforts. Well, THAT was a bigger challenge than I expected but SO exciting. The first two days were rained out, but I did all 17 miles on the third day and made up almost all of the other miles on my own, at the gym, without the benefits of cheerleaders motivating me to continue and giving me PB&J sandwiches or pink M&Ms to refuel. I only had ONE blister! And I raised a total of $2400.

Read at least 20 books this year. Ummmm… not quite. Increased workload and time-consuming long training walks really disrupted these plans; however I did read a decent number of books (and many, many more magazines). Clearly my nerd was all-out this year, as most of the books are non-fiction and about health, diet or writing. These are the books I read: 

  1. Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird
  2. Bob Greene’s The Best Life Guide to Diabetes and Pre-Diabetes
  3. Mark Bittman’s Food Matters
  4. Confessions of a Carb Queen by Susan Blech
  5. Julie & Julia by Julie Powell
  6. Moose by Stephanie Klein
  7. The Late Bloomers Revolution by Amy Cohen
  8. The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb (Can this count as 2–it was loooong!)
  9. The Four Obsessions of an Extraordinary Executive by Patrick Lencioni

Now… how will I make 2010 the best it can be?

Again, start integrating writing into my life more and work on my book: I will write at least 10 pages a month (thanks to scheduled writing time!) and participate in at least 10 writer’s group meetings. I will also look into writer’s conferences in Philly and New York.
 
Lose another 50 lbs. I will do this by religiously tracking my food, wearing my Bodybugg, following a clean-eating diet and working out 5-6 days a week. To stay motivated and make sure I’m staying on track:
  • I will use my monthly wall calendar to document my workouts–those yellow highlighter crosses really make me feel good when I’m blinded by them at the end of the month!
  • I will schedule workouts in my planner.
  • Reincorporate strength-training in my workouts 2-3 times a week (I started this goal this week and my chest and arms are still crying about it.)
  • I will continue to use Sundays to plan my meals and workouts for the week.
  • I will try at least one new healthy recipe each week.
  • I will avoid cookies and sweets at lunch, instead bringing a piece of minty gum as my lunch “chaser.”
  • I will drink 6+ glasses of water daily.
  • I will drink 1-2 cups of green tea daily. Supposedly, it boosts metabolism, but it could be a healthy coffee replacement.
  • I will take measurements on the first of each month. No, I will not post them for all of you to see. 😛
  • I will have an agenda to discuss with my doc at my annual check-up in February/March. It will include weight loss, my c-reactive protein levels, my back pain, my muscle tightness, discussing birth control options and whatever health concerns come up.
  • If I don’t lose weight consistently between now and my physical in February/March, I will return to the nutritionist.
  • I will take my vitamins, supplements and metformin regularly.
Find another fitness challenge to give me a NSV to work towards in 2010. I haven’t settled on what this one is yet. Run a 5k? Be strong enough to try out for a roller derby team? Participate in a mini triathalon?

Reconfigure my budget and make a better savings plan for 2010. Generally, I do this every year, but this year’s paycut due to the economy and the desire to take another real vacation (cruise!?!) means that this year’s budget update is extra important.

Read at least 20 books this year. YES! I have to put the Nook Evan got me for Christmas to good use. Currently on my agenda to read:

  • Finish Jillian Michael’s Master Your Metabolism
  • Also finish Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper
  • Dave Eggers’ Where the Wild Things Are novel
  • Wally Lamb’s Wishin’ and Hopin’
  • The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

So, I think that’s more than enough to keep my plate full this year. What are YOU doing in 2010?

5 responses to “2009 in Review & Looking Ahead to 2010!

  1. Britttttttttttt C

    tina, i signed up and paid for the half marathon. omg it’s too late to back out now! eeeek.

    oh and i’m doing a small 2 mile race (half beach, half land) in february.

    my goal is to make an effort to acknowledge the positive in all situations and keep a gratitude journal. skiing made me realize i’m not weak or fat or out of shape, i’m just bound by my own negativity. it’s my year for change 🙂

  2. I did the avon walk for breast cancer that one is only 39.5, so you walked an extra 20.1 miles. I agree that it was an amazing experience.

    This year I am riding the MS-150 from Houston to Austin.. its a 180 mile bike ride in two days. I am really excited and looking forward to starting training.

  3. Britt: YAY! Keep me posted on the races. I’ll try to be your cheerleader if you need or want it. I like the gratitude journal idea. I was thinking of doing a vision board/motivation board to keep me focused this year.

    Gelareh: The MS-150 sounds exciting! I love spinning but my challenge with biking is fearing doing it on the road (crazy Jersey drivers!). Perhaps you could share some tips with me?

  4. weightwatchersforone

    Wow those are some great resolutions for 2010! I especially like how you came up with a whole list of things that you are going to do in order to lose weight. I am jealous you have a bodybugg!! i just got a HRM and I am obsessed.

    One of my goals for 2010 is to run a 5k.

  5. You forgot to add a visit to Colorado to meet the new Malsam, I definitely think that needs to be on the list….

    Miss you and hope the holidays were great!

Leave a Reply

