FB’s Year in Reflection Questionnaire

Earlier this week, Fat Bridesmaid posted a questionnaire that I’ve been thinking about ALL WEEK!

  • Was 2009 good for you? Yes! Loving my job (most days) had fun times, experienced new fitness challenges (the 3-Day, started wogging) and feel (mostly) healthier than I did this time last year.
  • What was your favorite moment of the year?  Being one of the few honored guests at Deanne & Matt’s wedding in Ithaca.
  • What was your worst moment of the year? My weight loss roller coaster. I am pleased I’m not showing a gain, but I haven’t been able to break this up and down pattern.
  • Where were you when 2009 began? Playing Wii and watching Dick Clark with friends, followed by walking home in the crisp, cold air to meet up with Evan when he got out of work just after midnight.
  • Who were you with? See above
  • Where were you when 2009 ended? I will be wrapped up in fleecy blankets and comfy flannel PJs and reading a book. I’m not big on the New Year’s party scene, in case you couldn’t tell.
  • Did you keep your new years resolution of 2009? Mostly! See here.
  • Do you have a new years resolution for 2010? Absolutely! See here.
  • Did you fall in love in 2009? I stayed in love. And maybe fell in love a little more.
  • Did you make any new friends in 2009? I strengthened a few friendships that needed tending to and released a couple that were wearing me down. I also reconnected with a friend from high school after realizing that we both work at the same place, more than 4 hours away from our home towns!
  • What was your favorite month of 2009? Surprisingly, December.
  • Why this month? There’s been some relief at work, which has allowed me to focus on some long-range planning and goal-setting for my area, which I’m wicked excited about. I feel like I have a sense of balance that I’ve been missing the past few months, which gives me incredible hope for 2010. I also have some exciting things in the works, which will have to remain secret for now.
  • Did you travel outside of the US in 2009? Sadly, no.
  • How many different places did you travel to in 2009? I went to home to Connecticut several times and traveled to New York City, Ithaca NY, Nashville TN and Sandusky OH. I’m frequently in the Philly area.
  • Did you miss anybody in the past year? I always miss my family. Until I get there ;P
  • What was your favorite movie that you saw in 2009? Coraline!
  • What was your favorite song from 2009? Almost anything from Tegan & Sara’s latest CD or “Percussion Cannon” from White Rabbit.
  • How many concerts or plays did you see in 2009? I saw City & Colour, Death Cab for Cutie/Cold War Kids, Mae, Regina Spektor, Snow Patrol, RaRaRiot/Maps & Atlases and Ani Difranco. We were supposed to go to see Michael Ian Black and Michael Showalter in October but it was postponed to February.
  • Did you have a favorite concert in 2009? Tough one! I think I’ll say RaRaRiot with Maps & Atlases because it was better than expected, incredibly fun and exposed us to a great new band (Maps & Atlases).
  • What was your favorite book in 2009? I am currently reading Dave Eggers’ version of Where The Wild Things Are, and I’m absolutely in love with it. Spike Jonze asked Eggers to write the screenplay, but as they were writing, Maurice Sendak told Eggers that he thought it also needed to be turned into a novel. Presto! Brilliance!
  • Did you do anything you are ashamed of this year? I developed a crush on Miley Cyrus’s “Party in the USA” song. And I sing it quite loudly when I’m alone in the car and it’s on the radio.
  • What was the biggest lie you told in 2009? To myself: I’ve come up with a million excuses for my lack of weight loss while failing to recognize the ways in which I’ve sabotaged myself by not being consistent with my plan and not always pushing myself as much as I used to.
  • Did you treat somebody badly in 2009/Did somebody treat you badly in 2009? Yes. The aforementioned friends I “released” and I both treated each other with neglect. After years of not liking myself when I’m around them, it was time that we all let go.
  • What was your proudest moment of 2009? Surviving it! Doing the 3-Day walk, managing stress at work, strengthening my relationship with Evan, etc. At times, it felt as if I was “stalled out” this year and didn’t really accomplish much or get anywhere, but in some ways my personal growth was incredible.
  • What was your most embarrassing moment of 2009? I can’t think of any.
  • If you could go back to any moment of 2009 and change something, what would it be? There’s no specific moment I’d change, but I’d choose to save more money and visit family a little more.
  • Favorite TV shows(s) of 2009? Lost, Top Chef, Glee and Hoarders were the only shows I watched regularly. I actually watched less TV this year than usual. Even my Biggest Loser fascination took a back seat during the fall season.
  • Favorite Band(s) of 2009? Tegan & Sara.
  • Favorite Food in 2009? I’m pretty pleased with how my chocolate zucchini spice cake came out for the FoodieFights challenge but Barbara Kafka’s cauliflower and mushroom side was my favorite healthy dish this year.
  • Favorite Drink in 2009? My sister’s homemade kahlua!
  • Favorite Place in 2009? My house. I saved up for the Pottery Barn desk I’ve been longing for and set up some bookshelves to create my own home office and I absolutely love it.
  • Favorite person(s) to be with in 2009? Best fun ever was playing games with my sister, brother and Evan at Christmas.
  • Favorite person(s) to talk to in 2009? It depends on the day!
  • Favorite trip in 2009? To Ithaca for Deanne & Matt’s wedding.
  • Favorite stores in 2009? I’m always a fan of sipping a nonfat latte at Barnes & Noble and browsing books and magazines simply because it’s relaxing and there’s no pressure to buy.  Otherwise, Starbucks, as long as I have a nonfat latte, a comfy chair and my laptop.
  • Hardest thing you had to go through in 2009? Training two new staff members and covering the job of a third while searching to fill that third position. Essentially, from mid-May through November, I was severely understaffed.
  • Most exciting moment(s) in 2009? The response I’ve gotten in my writer’s group as I read some of the essays I’ve started writing towards my weight loss memoir.
  • Funniest moment(s) in 2009? My siblings and Evan crack me up (and delights innocent onlookers) on a regular basis. I couldn’t limit this to one moment.
  • Advertisements

    6 responses to “FB’s Year in Reflection Questionnaire

    1. weightwatchersforone

      I love party in the USA 🙂 Miley has the best workout music!!

    2. Awesome answers! I watched a bunch of TV this fall too. There were so many good shows on and now Lost is coming back?! *heaven*

    3. Sadly I love party in the USA too… one of my friends disowned me for it…

      bring the board games home when you come home in January.

    4. FB: Trust me. There will be a party on Feb. 2 when Lost returns. Friends and I are getting together early to make Dharma Initiative cupcakes and drink Dharma beer!

      Val: Which games? Buzzword or others too? It better not snow/ice that weekend so I CAN come home.

    5. NOT BOGGLE… other than that I’ll play anything…

    6. OMG you did NOT say Tegan and Sara! I LOVE them! Sainthood is definitely one of top picks for the year. I felt like I was reading my own responses for all your questions! 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    