The post is brought to you by the letter zzzzz…

Yesterday’s nighttime chocolate avoidance was a success. Thank you, decaf green tea followed by caffeine free apple herbal tea! Instead of reading my book, I flipped through some magazines since I was feeling a little brain dead. Recently, I picked up Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food “Light Issue” (January) and was disappointed to see that mixed in with some healthy recipes were some real calorie busters. I had hoped and expected that the whole issue was related to healthy, low calorie, balanced dishes. Don’t get me wrong–they had some great ones, including a pork and polenta that Krissie already made this week (yum!)–but there were also dishes and desserts  that were total calorie busters, like black forest upside down cakes for 702 calories a serving. Can you imagine wasting more than 700 calories on dessert!? That’s practically half my daily budget. For some, it’s more than half.

Today I was a little smarter in planning my meals as you’ll see from my log below. Unfortunately, even though I was exhausted, I struggled to fall asleep and only got 7 hours. I will commit to 8 full hours of zzzzzzs tonight, especially since I have to present at a conference (and leave my house by 6am!) Thursday.

How many hours of sleep do you get on a daily basis? How many hours do you think you need for optimum performance (at the gym, at work, etc.)?

Remember Glamour’s sleep diet? Well now, Glamour magazine is making 2010, the year of the zzzzs following some research on how sleep so significantly impacts health and weight loss. Click here for their sleep challenge. Now, I’m not so foolish as to believe that sleep will instantly and magically reduce the number that pops up on my scale each morning, but I do know that it helps me rest and repair after hard workouts, it lets me put extra effort in my exercise routine, it keeps me alert and focused and it makes me less likely to crave coffee, chocolate and sweets. All of those benefits help my weight loss efforts.

SLEEP: 7 hours

WATER: 6 glasses plus 3 cups of green or herbal teas (mostly decaf)

BREAKFAST (391 calories)

  • 1/2 cup of Egg Beaters with 1 turkey sausage patty and 3/4 ounce of jalapeno cheese on an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin with a teaspoon of Smart Balance
  • Coffee with half and half

AM SNACK (80 calories)

  • Luna Lemon bar mini (90 calories)

LUNCH (464 calories)

  • leftover lentils
  • wilted spinach salad with 93% lean ground turkey and mushrooms
  • apricot green tea

PM/PRE-WORKOUT SNACK

  • banana
  • 1 TBS Skippy Natural peanut butter
  • apricot green tea

DINNER (375 calories)

  • leftover Shirataki fake mac and cheese with turkey sausage, zucchini, broccoli, Laughing Cow cheese and grated parmesan (much better on day 2!)
  • mixed greens and peppers with 1 TBS Ken’s light Italian dressing
  • Sweet potato oven fries made with olive oil spray
  • 1/4 cup of Haagen Dazs lowfat vanilla frozen yogurt

DESSERT (105 calories)

  • diet (25 calorie) hot cocoa made with skim milk
Total calories consumed: 1659 
 
WORKOUT (400 calories burned according to the Bodybugg)
  • 35 minutes cardio (elliptical)
  • 10 minutes stretching

Perfect food day: a little high in sodium (2643mg) but also high in fiber (38g–almost all from natural/produce sources) and a well-balanced day (43% of calories from carbs, 25% protein, 32% fat)!

3 responses to “The post is brought to you by the letter zzzzz…

  1. weightwatchersforone

    congrats on no late night snacking!! I hate when “light” recipes are still really high in calories in my mind… um 702 for dessert?? NO WAY.

    I looove sleep and I def need at least 8 to be a happy girl. I try to go to bed by 11 and wake up at 7 but I have a hard time falling asleep and sleeping through the night, blaaah.

  2. I also made the chicken lettuce wraps. They are KILLER. Like the best thing I’ve made in a long time. We have the beef/pepper wraps on tap for tomorrow. I know all the recipes aren’t reasonable, but I’d rather see it this way than the way it is in most magazines – exactly the opposite.

    I look forward to her January magazine every year! A few years ago, there was a week full of salads and they were all amazing.

    I’m hoping some day there will be a cookbook of just her light recipes. I would be obsessed.

  3. I AM actually really glad the magazine started including nutritional information for all of their recipes. When I first started buying it, they didn’t and I’d have to think too much about whether it was a recipe I wanted to try (or tediously factor the nutritional information myself). I love that they use “clean/whole” foods and their recipes do always taste good.

    Cooking Light is my fave cooking mag and they just announced they will also be taking Michael Pollan’s advice to heart and start ensure their using more clean ingredients and less of the fake stuff, although I’ve always thought they were pretty good about that anyway.

    Have you tried the Biggest Loser chicken wraps from their first cookbook? Spicy and filling thanks to the addition of bamboo shoots and water chestnuts, all ground up so you don’t even really notice. I’ll have to have a taste test to compare the two recipes!

Leave a Reply

