Foiled!

Ahhhh… days like today remind me that sometimes a plan just isn’t enough.
 
8pm last night: in the sofa, wrapped in a fleecy, t-shirt quilt sipping diet hot cocoa and watching The Biggest Loser.
 
9:50pm: watched the last 10 minutes from bed, thinking “If I were on the show, I think I’d protest loudly and refuse to vote anyone out.” I can see myself shouting at Ali that there was no need to vote anyone out during the WI.
 
10:00pm: curled up in bed on the edge of sleep which came a mere 10-15 minutes later, I’m sure. I love, love, love that feeling of being cozy and curled up, gradually drifting to sleep.
 
4:30am: awake. I gradually wake, realizing I need to pee, but thanks to where I was at in my sleep (just an hour earlier, I probably wouldn’t have woken up enough to stay away) and thanks to the concentration required to avoid stepping on the sprawled out cat laying like a furry moat between my bedroom door and the bathroom entry, I could not fall back asleep, despite trying to do so for more than an hour. Trust me, I was/am tired. Just couldn’t sleep.
 
Just before 6am, I finally got up for good and made some coffee. I also had to refigure my meal plan for the day since I seemed to misplace it. Since tomorrow’s lunch and dinner and Friday’s lunch are all out, I REALLY need to have a plan that works.
  
Tonight, I’m looking forward to returning to spin class. I’m hoping it will help my painfully tight right hip. Again, by 8pm I’ll be in jammies on the sofa and I’m considering taking the Eric Chopin special and going to be at 9pm since tomorrow’s wake up time needs to be 5am.
 
SLEEP: 6 hours

WATER: 6 glasses plus 2-3 cups of green tea

BREAKFAST (400 calories)

  • 1/2 cup of Egg Beaters with 1/2 ounce of jalapeno cheese on an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin with a teaspoon of Smart Balance
  • Trader Joe’s Almond 5-Seed Bar
  • Coffee with half and half

AM SNACK (260 calories)

  • mini protein bar 
  • grande nonfat latte from Starbucks

LUNCH (439 calories):

  • portobello mushroom “pizza” (portobello mushroom baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes with 1/4 part skim ricotta filling the cap and topped with 1/4 cup of baby spinach, one 1/2 oz slice of provolone and pizza seasoning)
  • mixed greens salad with tomato, green pepper and 1 TBS of Ken’s Light Italian dressing
  • pita chips (WW pita torn into bite sized pieces, sprayed with Pam, sprinkled with salt, pepper and 1/2 TBS of grated parmesan cheese baked for 8 minutes at 350 degrees)
  • 1/2 a naval orange
  • 1 piece (50 calorie) of chocolate
  • apricot green tea

PM/PRE-WORKOUT SNACK (305 calories)

  • Mini protein bar
  • 1 TBS Skippy Natural pb
  • apricot green tea

DINNER (291 calories)

  • salad of arugula, shrimp, celery, cucumber with a TBS mayo
  • Arnold’s Sandwich Thin with strawberry Brummel & Brown spread (was going to skip this but was too hungry after spin–I even ate the salad and waited 20 minutes before deciding)

DESSERT (45 calories)

  • diet (25 calorie) hot cocoa made with water and a splash of skim milk
Total calories consumed: 1740
 
WORKOUT (estimated calorie burn: 740)
  • 20 minutes weights (upper body only)
  • 45 minute spin class
  • 10 minutes stretching

Awesome food day: High fiber (34g), I didn’t surpass cholesterol despite the shrimp salad and my carb/protein/fat calorie ratio is on point. The only problem was my sodium was 3,000. While typically my calorie intake is 1500-1700, I didn’t mind going a smidge over since I have a more intense workout (spin class).

Leave a Reply

