TGIF

Sleep has fallen to a back burner, as I had to get up at 5 yesterday to get ready to leave for a conference where I presented. I felt rusty, but I know the material well, and it’s stuff I like talking about, so it went fairly well. It was exciting to have directors from other colleges & unis approach me to inquire more about our research and implementation strategies for the prorgramming curriculum we shared.  

As of yesterday morning, the scale showed a loss of 2.6lbs from the previous Friday which doesn’t get me to my pre-holiday weight but was a pleasing number. Unfortunately, TODAY is my official WI on my home scale, and it was higher thanks to eating lunch and dinner out yesterday. The ONLY option for lunch was Boston Market: roast turkey and chicken (good), caeser salad, buttered corn, cornbread, mashed potatoes, mac and cheese, cheesecake. I filled my plate with turkey and salad (I used 2 tsp of light dressing) and had 1/4 cup servings of the rest. And 1/3 a slice of cheesecake. With strawberries.

Ultimately, I went over my calorie budget by about 700 calories (which really is only about 200-300 calories over a “maintenance” level for me). I had to estimate, because not all the food we had was find-able on the restaurant’s website or TheDailyPlate, but I’m guessing I had 2350 calories and almost 6,000 mg of sodium (or just about 3 times the max). And that sodium is what killed me. (Surprisingly, though, I balanced my ratio of carbs, protein and fat very well!)

Despite drinking at least 8 glasses of water and 6 glasses of other liquids throughout yesterday, today’s *official* loss is 1/2 a pound.  

I am certainly celebrating today’s loss and really like the structure, focus and commitment I have for my current plan. It is an indicator that I can continue this trend WHEN I stay on track (eat 1500-1700 calories, strength training 3x/wk, cardio 5x/wk and include higher intensity cardio for some of that time, sleeping 7+hours nightly, keeping sodium at a healthier level and drinking more water and less coffee).

My weekend plans are this:

  • Workout today (maybe spin class) and tomorrow (weights & cardio). Rest day on Sunday.
  • Catch up on sleep
  • Relax, relax, relax!
  • Finish working on my 2010 budget (on of my New Year Resolutions/annual tasks)
  • Read
  • Catch up with at least one far-away friend tonight
  • Plan my meals and workouts for next week and pick at least one new recipe to try
  • Work on my secret, special plan, TBA at a later date
  • And maybe, just maybe, get Evan to watch another ep of Mad Men with me. We just watched the series permiere last night and own the season 1 & 2 DVDs.

What are you doing?

One response to “TGIF

  1. Don’t you hate it when the “unofficial scale results” are more than your real ones? Still, a loss is a loss, and you should be happy. I would be too.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

