Winter: the season of icy slips and slides

Sometimes I compare my diet to preparing for winter. With my diet:

  • I plan ahead. (Use time on Sundays to plan workouts and meals for the week.)
  • I make sure I’m prepared. (Also use the weekend to prepare meals and snacks in advance.)
  • I have plan Bs (and even Cs) if I need it. (Difficult social situation coming up? I make extra time in my schedule for the gym or cut back on calories the rest of the day.)

When winter hits, I do the same:

  • I plan ahead. (Check the weather forcast. Alter travel around it.)
  • I make sure I’m prepared. (I get snow tires when needed. I make sure my winter coat, scarf and mittens are out, cleaned and by the door once the cold season starts.)
  • I have plan Bs (and even Cs) if I need it. (If it’s possible bad weather will prevent me from traveling to see friends or family out of town, I typically have already discussed a different weekend that we can plan the trip.)

But sometimes you hit black ice. You can’t see it or do anything about it. You just ride it out and regain control as soon as you get to clean pavement again.

Last night, that came in the form of a discounted bag of Buffalo Bleu Kettle-brand ripple potato chips on sale at Wegman’s for $1.24.

Typically, when I grocery shop, I avoid the center aisles since that’s where you predominantly find packaged foods, “junk” food and processed foods that I generally try to avoid in my diet. However, the last time my sister visited me, she got some really good all natural, organic cheese puffs from the natural foods section and she keeps asking me to pick up a few more bags for her.
 
And that was my first mistake. Didn’t find the cheese puffs but definitely saw the sale on chips. I picked up a bag of those and a bag of the BBQ flavor and decided to have them for lunches this week.
 
That was my second mistake. There are 5 servings in a bag and 5 work days. What’s the use of a second bag?
 
All was good though as I prepared and packed my lunch and snacks for today:
  • apple with 1 oz 50% reduced fat Cabot cheddar (snack)
  • honey FF Chobani yogurt with sliced strawberries and ground flaxseed (snack)
  • 3oz 97% FF ham on a rye Arnold’s sanwich thin with dijon, baby spinach and artichoke hearts
  • carrot and celery sticks
I also picked up a new OXO BPA-free food storage container that I planned to use for chili leftover lunches this week, but was also the perfect size for 1 (ONE!) portion of chips.
 
I ate a few of the broken chips. They were delicious! And then I clipped the bag closed, put it back on the shelf, cleaned up and ate my planned dinner. Dinner was delicious: red peppers stuffed with quinoa, mushrooms, onion, escarole, parmesan cheese and roasted garlic chicken sausage. Filling and low in calories–just 200 calories for a large half of a pepper.
 
Wouldn’t you know those damned chips were SCREAMING my name? So I took a few more. And at some point, I just made the CONSCIOUS decision to finish off the last of the bag for a total of 4 servings of chips.
 
I actually said to myself “I should just finish the bag or these are gonna torture me all week.”
 
And there went 600 calories worth of chips and a day that was supposed to end with a very nice 1600 calorie balanced diet.
 
So I’ve since learned that I cannot be trusted with chips OR anything in a tasty buffalo flavor (I’ve had similar issues with the hot & spicy Cheez-Its and buffalo flavored pretzels) and now I’m wondering what I can do with this bag of BBQ chips. As long as it’s unopened, I’m okay for now. THOSE chips most certainly will NOT see the light of day this week. They can suffocate in their foiled wrapped, BBQ delicious darkness for all I care right now.
 
After watching the Eric Chopin (former Biggest Loser winner who has gained back most of the 200lbs he lost) special on Discovery Health Channel last week and realizing that he seems to have some significant emotional issues that cause him to eat, I’ve made a concerted attempt to identify my reasons for eating stupid. Sometimes it’s simple laziness. Other times it’s related to anxiety, stress or frustration (which ironically creates more anxiety, stress and frustration once the carb coma wears off).
I can’t determine whether there was an emotional reason yesterday. Yesterday was a pretty good day. I stayed at Evan’s, woke up around 9:30 and did a 10:30 Starbucks run in my pjs for coffee (I was just waiting for a What Not To Wear intervention) and then promptly returned to bed to sip my nonfat misto and finish reading The Lovely Bones (AMAZING book, by the way!). We had a brunch of french toast (just a little piece for me–my breakfast was mainly oats with a tsp of peanut butter and some egg whites for protein) and watched a couple episodes of “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia.” Once home, I started reading the new Wally Lamb book I got for Christmas. It was a good day. To some extent, I probably had some of the ennui of a weekend being almost over eating at me (ha! pun-ny!), but I felt pretty relaxed and content.
So, time to pull myself together and get back on plan.  I’m using this song (“Tightrope” by Yeasayer) as therapy.
What do you do when you slip? What causes a slip-up? How to you pull yourself together?
My calories are actually a little on the light side today, partly because I missed my morning snack, so I may add 150-200 more calories with dinner if I’m still hungry.
SLEEP: 7.5 hours

WATER: 6 glasses plus 2-3 cups of green tea

BREAKFAST (289 calories)

  • 1/2 cup of Egg Beaters with 1/2 ounce of 2% shredded cheddar on an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin with a teaspoon of Smart Balance
  • 1/4 cup of sliced strawberries
  • Coffee with half and half

LUNCH (467 calories):

  • ham, baby spinach, artichoke hearts, 1 tsp dijon and 1 tsp mayo with olive oil on an Arnold’s sandwich thin 
  • 2 baby dill pickles
  • carrot sticks & celery
  • 1 (really, just ONE) serving of Buffalo-flavored chips
  • 1 piece (50 calorie) of chocolate
  • apricot green tea

PM/PRE-WORKOUT SNACK (228 calories)

  • honey flavored fat free Chobani
  • 1/2 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1 TBS ground flax seed

DINNER (243 calories)

  • quinoa with mushrooms, onion, arugula, half a link of roasted garlic chicken sausage and grated parmesan cheese stuffed in a red pepper
  • steamed baby spinach

DESSERT (105 calories)

  • diet (25 calorie) hot cocoa made with skim milk
Total calories consumed: 1387
 
WORKOUT (estimated calorie burn: 492 but the bodybugg will tell for sure)
  • 20 minutes weights
  • 30 minute wog
  • 10 minutes stretching
4 responses to “Winter: the season of icy slips and slides

  1. I want Cheese DOODLES not the puffs.. I hate the puffs.. they taste like cheesy air…

    Maybe you had two low of calories and that’s why you had the cravings. Sometimes if I eat to low of calories I crave bad food. Really I’m hungry. And if it leaves the grocery store wiht me then I can’t control myself. If I leave the grocery store without it.. then there’s nothing I have to worry about. Although I forgot about that when I saw TJ’s Candy Cane Joes and ate 5 in one day…

  2. I’m sorry! I keep mixing them up. All I know is they were NOT at the bottom of the bag of chips I ate.

    I bought the candy cane Joe’s and turned them into chocolate peppermint oreo cookie bark for a Hanukkah party to keep my cookie munchies in check. It worked and everyone loved them. I will be avoiding the center aisles of the supermarket again.

  3. i’ll literally pay you to come cook for me. you can be my nanny

  4. I like the plan ahead analogy with food and winter! I think brownies are my black ice…

    What is your March looking like? Perhaps we could plan for a visit?

Leave a Reply

