Week 2 Weigh-in

Weight loss is NOT new to me, so the fact that I had a week two reminiscent of a Biggest Loser competitor hit me like a ton of bricks this week. At times I felt like I did a faceplant after hitting black ice, only to sit up and wonder what the hell happened to me.

This week was a mental game. My planning would have one gold stars and A+s from even the stringiest of teachers. My mental willingness to play along with this gold medal game plan didn’t even deserve to get me to the national championships.

All bets were off this week as I struggled with shoving my face full of chips, wanting to shove my face in a box of Munchkins and enough obstacles Thursday to make an Olympic hurdler trip up (Happy Hour with colleagues, a 4 hour-long breakfast meeting that included a carb-tastic spread of muffins as large as my head, leftover muffins sent back to the office and the desire to eat another bag of chips).

But Thursday morning I decided to set myself up for success by doing the following:

  • I reminded myself that the food would taste okay for a moment but I was shooting for the longer-term satisfaction of the number on the scale.
  • I had a healthy and satisfying breakfast of egg whites, 1 turkey sausage patty and one envelope of reduced sugar maple oatmeal. The egg/sausage gave me protein-fueled energy while the oats cured my craving for something sweet and gave me quality carbs and fiber. I made the oats with 1/2 cup of skim milk to boost my calcium for the day. (300-ish calories)
  • Typically, this event has a delicious hot breakfast buffet and bacon! bacon! bacon!) so my plan was to instead make a bee-line for the fresh fruit, ignoring the unhealthy stuff and loading up on fresh strawberries and pineapple before they ran out! I also brought my own yogurt. Instead, I had half of a bran muffin. (Total calories: 200)
  • I brought in a Lean Cuisine, Green Giant’s frozen green beans with almonds and an additional 2oz of shrimp for a protein-packed, low-cal lunch that was actually filling. (total calories: 383)
  • I saved enough calories for a Smithwicks (150 calories) at the Happy Hour and planned to leave early enough to fit in a workout at the gym (30 minutes cardio, 20 minutes weights) before heading to TOPS.
  • Dinner was chicken and white bean chili topped with fat-free Greek yogurt, reduced fat cheddar and a tablespoon of an uber-ripe avocado. (450 calories)
  • I drank EIGHT glasses of ice water and had 4 cups of green tea.
  • Total calories planned: just under 1500. 1500-1700 is my target.
  • I planned to be home and showered by 8pm and in bed by 10pm so I could get a full 8 hours of shut-eye.

I didn’t quite work out that way.

The cheap folding chairs were horrible for my back and sitting in them for 3 hours (the meeting was a little shorter than usual) resulted in an afternoon of back pain. I was hungry all day and with that hunger were cravings. It was difficult to determine what was what, so I took a lesson from The Biggest Loser and chewed on gum all day. Sorry, Bob. It wasn’t Extra. But I did use up a whole pack and have a sore jaw today to prove it. (I wanna see a Biggest Loser PSA on diet-induced TMJ now!) I skipped Happy Hour and the beer, ate more chips and felt gross enough to trash some junk food in the house, skip dinner (totally wasn’t hungry after that), drink a quart of ice water and walk for a little more than an hour at the gym before coming home and collapsing for the night. Good news: total calorie burn was 500 which meant that my endless grazing put me just a little ahead of the calories I needed to maintain my weight.

End result….

Somehow I managed to lose a freakin’ pound.

Phew!

I’m not really sure what the game plan is for next week. I have a weekend of eating dining hall meals with my student staff and I’m working all weekend, all while trying to find a few hours to celebrate my 2 year Date-aversary and lay low and relax for a couple hours with the manfriend.

I’ll take suggestions and advice, folks! I need it!

PS: I skipped TOPS. After wandering around the library for 5 minutes, I finally saw a group of three little old ladies in corduroy jumpers and turtlenecks with little hearts and flowers printed on it. Not a diverse group at all. I’m not sure whether I’ll give it a try to see if I will fit in. I’m considering starting a weight loss support group on campus instead, pulling from some of my colleagues in Health Services, Counseling and Athletics. I think it would be fun.

5 responses to “Week 2 Weigh-in

  1. Congrats on the 1 lb loss! Consider yourself lucky, my 2nd week of hard work resulted in a loss of zero, I stayed the same. I wanted to beat the life out of the scale, however I must remain focused. I keep telling myself, if you keep up the good work, next week’s weigh in will be extra good. The devil sitting on my shoulder keeps saying otherwise. 🙂
    Have a good week!

  2. weightwatchersforone

    Congrats on the loss.. a pound is a pound and it is AMAZING!!

    I don’t have a whole lot of advice because I am big on controlling my environment!! If there’s food in the lunch room I try and avoid it and I try my best to only buy food thats healthy. For instance I bought some baked nacho chips from Trader Joe’s… BAD IDEA… somewhat healthy but I basically had the same thing happen to me as you did with the bleu cheese chips. NOT GOOD.

    Good luck staying on track this weekend! Just try and make the best decisions you can.

  3. Invite alum back for the meetings! Also, it happens. Wake up, start anew. I started making/encouraging my kids to jog in place if they don’t know the answer to a question in class bc it will jog their memory. Plus, then I don’t look like the only idiot jogging in place in school. I fell victim to some lays this week and lost 2 lbs breaking my 5 week streak of maintaining, let’s see if it was water weight or for real. Another walk sometime soon?

  4. Just checked out that recipe… it looks REALLY good. As do some of her other recipes. Thanks!

    I love the idea of having the kids jog to jog their memory and I’ll bet it helps cut down on the hyperactivity some.

    Congrats on the loss! And yes, walking date!

Leave a Reply

