Catching up on the Classics

One of the things I liked about the Nook is that it would allow me to affordably accumulate and read a library of classics that I haven’t yet made the time to read. The kind folks at Barnes & Noble kindly shipped my Nook with Dracula, Little Women and Pride & Prejudice already downloaded, but after seeing the various lists of 100 classic (and modern classic) must-reads, I gotta admit, I am WAY behind and incredibly overwhelmed.

Below are some of the books I’ve read that are represented in many of these lists. I’m currently reading Pride & Prejudice. What  classics have you read? And what would you recommend I read next?

  1. War & Peace – Leo Tolstoy (after reading Alex Haley’s Roots in the fourth grade, I decided I needed another loooong book and promptly picked this up from the local library. My parents rolled their eyes behind my back and probably weren’t surprised that I only read the first 100 pages. I will add this to my must-read list now.)
  2. 1984 – George Orwell
  3. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  4. Devine Comedy – Dante Alighieri
  5. Canterbury Tales – Chaucer
  6. Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
  7. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee (this is easily one of my personal Top 10 favorite books)
  8. The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald (another one of my Top 10)
  9. A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess
  10. Paradise Lost – John Milton
  11. Hamlet – Shakespeare
  12. King Lear – Shakespeare
  13. Sonnets- Shakespeare
  14. Othello – Shakespeare
  15. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain
  16. Animal Farm – George Orwell
  17. In Cold Blood – Truman Capote (another fave–nonfiction!)
  18. Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  19. Charlotte’s Web – E.B. White
  20. The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
  21. The Color Purple – Alice Walker
  22. Heidi – Johanna Spyri
  23. The Wizard of Oz – Frank L. Baum
  24. The Crucible – Arthur Miller
  25. House of the Seven Gables – Nathaniel Hawthorne
  26. The Scarlet Letter – Nathaniel Hawthorne
  27. A Tale of Two Cities – Dickens
  28. A Christmas Carol – Dickens
  29. Great Expectations- Dickens
  30. David Copperfield- Dickens
  31. The Adventures of Oliver Twist – Dickens
4 responses to “Catching up on the Classics

  1. I really don’t understand why I was allowed to read Roots in the 6th grade but mom and dad wouldn’t let me read Queen. Really can it be worse than what happens in Roots??

  2. Great list! I absolutely agree about reading all the greats. Maybe instead of thinking you need to catch up right away, just try to get through at least the top 100 sometime in your life. One of my personal favorites is Gone with the Wind.

  3. the witches- roald dahl! children’s books are always the best.

  4. @senioritagordita: I love Roald Dahl–he’s one of my favorite children’s book authors! Barnes & Noble used to have an awesome hardcover treasury of all his books.

Leave a Reply

