Good job!

I have been going to spin classes for more than two years–sometimes going as often as 5 days a week. My nutritionist actually recommended spin to me to help my weight loss. I was hesitant and avoided it for months before going to my first spin class. By the end of that class, though, I was hooked and wrote this essay on the experience. I love spin so much, I have dreams about leading a spin class and can envision the music I play for my trainees. I’m also considering getting my certification so I can be a spin instructor.

Those who know me, also realize I’m somewhat needy for attention and recognition. I went to Weight Watchers so I could collect little gold foil stars and magnets and keychains commemorating my weight loss success. Spin instructors–at least the ones at my gym–don’t really give you personal attention. Sure, they commend the class as a whole on their form or compliment the class on their speed, but they never call out individual students.

Today, I was that exception.

I recently returned to Thursday night spin classes because I find that the way the instructor leads the class is more challenging for me in terms of strength and endurance. I also love his music (lots of indie rock–anything ranging from Phoenix to Vampire Weekend, Postal Service and The Killers).

Every Thursday now, I go to class and think he’s going to kill me within the first 10 minutes. Miraculously, it seems, I’m able to persevere and keep up. Today, he started with a series of climbing sprints that had my heart rate in the 160s within minutes.

Let’s just say, he resulted in several people groaning and cursing over the 45-50 minute class.

Afterwards, I was wiping down my bike when he walked up to me and said “You did great!”

I was flabbergasted. I could only manage to squeak out a thank you. It wasn’t until a half hour later that I realized it…

A REALLY GOOD SPIN INSTRUCTOR THINKS I DID WELL!!!

That totally rocked my day!

3 responses to “Good job!

  1. That is AWESOME! I miss spin class. I switched gyms after my office moved and my new gym has no classes. I am exactly like you – I like the recognition too! πŸ˜€

    Happy Friday Tina! πŸ˜€

  2. YAY! That had to feel good to get the thumbs up from the instructor.

    You really make me want to try a spin class. I had planned to do it this week when I was off, but never actually got around to it. I really should try it, because I like biking, and have fairly strong legs. Hmmm… I think I see a class in my near future. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. That’s so great!

    I love spinning, but I haven’t gone in a while because it started to hurt my knees. I’m hoping to try it again soon, though!

Leave a Reply

