New Breakfast!

I’m a little obsessive when it comes to organizing my kitchen, so it drove me nuts earlier this week to realize I had two opened bags of the exact same quinoa sitting in my house. I did what every wannabe professional organizer would do–I merged them into one food storage container and used my handy-dandy little labelmaker to properly identify the contents.

But, in the end, I had 1/3 cup of quinoa that did not fit into it’s neat little plastic container. It sat on my counter for 2 days before I nearly knocked it over, so finally, this morning, I decided to do something with it.

I’ve been curious about quinoa for breakfast since I first heard of it months ago, but this is the first I’ve attempted it. I love it for dinner, but decided I had to mix it with oats as a way of transitioning my taste buds to accepting this protein-filled grain as breakfast food. The eggs increase the protein and give it a custardy, rich texture, which is something I commonly do with my oats. This recipe has an amazing carb/protein ratio and would be perfect dressed with some dried cranberries and pecans, walnuts and a dollop of applesauce or even just a swirl of real maple syrup or agave for a touch of sweetness.

End result: I ate my first bowl as directed below with a few glazed walnuts and a couple tablespoons of dried cranberries. It was creamy, hearty and tasty–we’ll see if it keeps me full for hours, like my more standard breakfast of Egg Beaters on an Arnold’s Thin. So far, thumbs up! I’m definitely trying it with apple and walnuts next, though.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/3 cup dry quinoa
  • 1 cup of regular oats
  • 3/4 cup of Egg Beaters or egg whites
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp butter extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2-1/3 cup of water

DIRECTIONS

Toss all of the ingredients in a rice cooker and give it a stir. Set it to cook (mine has an automatic timer, but I ran it through two cycles since the quinoa was still a little too firm and there was still plenty of liquid).

Voila! Breakfast is done. Serves 4.

NUTRITIONAL STATS (according to Calorie Count)

  • 174 calories
  • 3.8 g fat
  • 23.8g carbs
  • 3.4 g fiber
  • 10.4 g protein
3 responses to “New Breakfast!

  1. My roommates put leftover quinoa in her eggs… she likes it but I have yet to try it.

    I had the most amazing lunch yesterday. I made an Omlette (1 egg, 2 egg whites) mixed with a drop of milk, cumin and smoked paprika… then after I fliped it I added leftover black beans from Chipotle and pico de gallo, light cheese and scallions… it was under 300 calories and amazing. And filling…

    I bought red quinoa from WF’s this week to test out.. it cooks in half the time of normal quinoa so if it tastes good I’ll let you know since that means you won’t have to run it through your cycle twice for bfast quinoa…

  2. Looks awesome, Tina! I have a box of quinoa I keep forgetting about. I think it’s time to break it out! I love high-protein breakfasts, so this is perfect. Thanks for the stats, too!

  3. That looks great! I’ve made something similar – with chopped walnuts, but its been ages!

Leave a Reply

