New Week, New Plan

The gym simply did NOT happen this weekend. No, I wasn’t sore and attempting to recover from my fantabulous Friday run. I was on call for work and didn’t get more than 2-3 consecutive hours of sleep Friday night and Saturday night. (I swear, this job must be trying to prepare me for motherhood. For all the moms I’m friends with: I am so profoundly sorry about your loss–of sleep.)

Despite the lack of sleep, I’m pleased to report that I didn’t struggle with feeling snacky nor did I graze on food all day. It helped that I was too tired to really prepare anything (which also resulted in a healthy sushi dinner Saturday), but really, I just kept reminding myself that I was feeding myself properly and that any  subsequent hunger was really just my body trying to break through the exhaustion. Calories remained in check, even if exercise was put on the back burner.

Last night, I got a solid 8.5 hours of zzzzzs and I have another 8 or 9 hours planned for tonight, so it’s back to sweating my arse off and continuing the healthy eating plan. I made chicken marsala with brown rice last night and paired it with a salad made of baby spinach, Granny Smith apple, walnuts and homemade balsamic vinaigrette. There are enough leftovers to carry me through Wednesday, which is going to be key to my success with sticking to plan, given the fact that I’m on call Tuesday night (potentially another slee-deprived night!) and have evening commitments for work Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday.

Here’s the plan:

  • MONDAY: jog 2 miles, walk 1 mile, Total Body Conditioning Class
  • TUESDAY: walk 4 miles (walking date with Senorita Gordita)
  • WEDNESDAY: spin & abs class, weights
  • THURSDAY: spin class
  • FRIDAY: jog 2 miles, walk 1 mile, weights, abs
  • SATURDAY: walk the Grounds for Sculpture
  • SUNDAY: maybe rest, maybe spin class, maybe walk around a local park.

 So… what’s your plan for getting your body moving this week?

Leave a Reply

