Who IS this woman?

I had a stunning revelation when I got back from the gym last night.

I wanted to go back.

Yes. I spent 30 minutes pushing myself on weights (increased weights and/or reps for all sets) and then had an intense spin class that ended with these crazy loaded sprints in which we cranked up the resistance while seated, stood in third position to gain strength and speed and then sat back down and continued to increase our speed for four 20-30 second sprints with 20-30 seconds of recovery between each one.

I thought my HRM was going to burst.

After that I came back because…well…I was done my planned workout. It was also 7:30 and I figured I should eat dinner before my 8pm phone date with a recently married friend from grad school. Unfortunately, my friend wasn’t feeling well, but I didn’t see her text until I was home. And that’s when I realized I kinda wish I had brought my running shoes to the gym and added a 30 minute run to my workout.

Damn. I actually shocked myself with that realization. I had to look in the mirror to see if it was me, because even though I’ve been committed in mind to my workouts and I have a sense of obligation to sticking with the routine, my heart is not always there with it. This time, apparently my heart wanted it more than my brain realized. Sweet! Am I a real athlete now?!

I could have gone back after dinner, but sadly, the pile of dirty dishes that have accumulated over the past 2 days called my name instead. Talk about obligation… but you can bet I did squats as I loaded the dishwasher! 🙂

Morning’s WI: It was a little higher than it was the rest of the week, but I still showed a solid pound and a half loss this week. I am FINALLY down 5 lbs from my first WI of the year. It’s about darn time.

3 responses to “Who IS this woman?

  1. Sadly last night doesn’t make you an athelete since you’re not doing competition but once you get that triatholon done and do a few 5k’s then you’ll be one…

    until then.. you’re a gym rat…

    GTL baby! 🙂

  2. Woot Woot! I’m going to say congrats are in order all around for this post 🙂

  3. Your heart wants it and your head is in it, and now your body is finally catching on!

    You’re an athlete as far as I’m concerned – you’ve been at this for a while and you’re committed to training for a huge event. You should be proud of your accomplishments!

    Thanks for the triathlon training tips. Swimming freaks me out – I’m not a horrible swimmer but worried about the open water and getting kicked in the head. I just need to conquer my fear. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

