Day One Review

Okay… so I needed to make a couple modifications, but overall, the first day on this PCOS-friendly diet worked out okay. Below I’m reposting what I planned to eat, but editing it in red and strikethroughs to show you how it ultimately ended.

In my previous post, my sister heckled me for potentially being an early quitter. She insisted I needed to try it longer. I guess I should have clarified:  If I spend the week wanting to gnaw off someone’s arm because I’m so hungry and if that soul crushing hunger doesn’t improve by Friday, I won’t stick with it. Hangry Tina is not so nice to be around. HOWEVER, if it’s only moderately uncomfortable and the scale is at least showing a continued downward trend (like today’s pound and a half loss), I’m more than happy to stick it out until it no longer works. And her suggestion of a month is perfectly fine with me. Got that, Val?!

Notes for tomorrow:  I need to swap my dinners and lunches. Despite eating a later than normal lunch, I was hungry within 2 hours. I’m sure eating one less ounce of chicken wasn’t smart–the protein would have helped satiate me; however, I tend to be less hungry around dinnertime and after the gym so swapping those meals just makes more sense.

TODAY’S EATS:

  • Breakfast: light multigrain English Muffin with 1 TBS Almond Butter and 1 tsp Smart Balance Light (the Almond Butter was too thick to cover the whole English Muffin), decaf coffee with skim milk
  • Snack: pear and a tall nonfat misto
  • Lunch: 3 cups of salad greens, 1/2 cup of kidney beans garbanzo beans, 4oz 3 oz grilled chicken breast, 1 tsp olive oil, vinegar & a 25-calorie square of Lindt dark chocolate (that last part totally isn’t in the diet, but I believe it’s moderate enough to quiet any sugar hankerings)
  • Snack: 1/2 cup of FF Greek yogurt mixed with a packet of TruVia/Splenda and 2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder (SO freakin’ good and under 70 calories!)
  • Dinner: 4oz 5oz salmon roasted with fresh dill (from colleague’s AeroGarden) and dijon, 1/2 cup of brown rice, 1.5 2 cups of green beans
  • Dessert: sugar free strawberry Jell-O with 1 cup of chopped strawberries and FF whipped cream

Today’s nutritional statistics, courtesy of The Daily Plate:

  • 1215 1250 calories
  • 28 g fat (21% of calories) 27 g/20%
  • 1183 g sodium 1107 g
  • 146 g carbs (under 50% of calories) 150 g/49%
  • 37 34 g fiber
  • 91 g protein (30% of calories) 95g/31%

Now, let’s see what kind of gourmet calorie restriction Tuesday will bring:

  • Breakfast: light multigrain English Muffin with 1/2 cup of Egg Beaters, 1/3 cup of chopped mushroom, onion, spinach and broccoli, 1 Laughing Cow cheese wedge and decaf coffee with skim milk
  • Snack: 1/2 an ounce of almonds
  • Lunch: 1 slice of multigrain bread, 4 oz of deli turkey, lettuce, tomato, onion, mustard, pickles, 1 cup of vegetarian minestrone
  • Snack: 1/2 cup of lowfat cottage cheese and 1/2 cup of strawberries
  • Dinner: 3oz chicken breast, 2 cups of mixed veggies (broccoli, scallion, red pepper, mushroom), 2oz whole wheat spaghetti, peanut/soy sauce (1 tsp peanut butter, 2 tsp soy sauce, chicken broth, 1/4 tsp hoisin sauce, 1/4 tsp crushed garlic)
  • Dessert: sugar free strawberry Jell-O with 1 cup of chopped strawberries and FF whipped cream

Today’s nutritional statistics, courtesy of The Daily Plate:

  • 1309 calories
  • 27 g fat (18% of calories)
  • 4540 g sodium (this is high, due to lunch)
  • 175 g carbs (52% of calories)
  • 35 g fiber
  • 104 g protein (31% of calories)
One response to “Day One Review

  1. Oh, the sisterly love! 🙂

    Good luck with your new eating plan – I can’t wait to hear how the week went. Your dinner for tonight is making me drool!

Leave a Reply

