Day Two: flexibility achieved

As much time as I spend planning diet and exercise, I need to know that a plan can be flexible. I wasn’t sure that this was totally possible with the current diet plan but yesterday proved that it was and, more importantly, proved that I know and am comfortable with the plan.

Proof?

At about 11:45 am yesterday, a colleague called and asked if I’d meet him for lunch at the faculty/staff dining hall. I like the student dining hall better–more options, more flexibility–but I said yes. This other dining hall didn’t have the soup I was planning to eat, nor did it have a deli station for the turkey on multigrain I expected for lunch. Instead, I made a large salad of baby spinach, peppers, shredded carrot, mushrooms, diced red onion and I topped it with about 3 ounces of flank steak. It was actually pretty good, but I realized I missed out on a healthy oil and carbs. There were no beans at the salad bar and I simply forgot to add a touch of olive oil to the salad.

Dinner was also flexible. I was running late for a phone date with a friend, so instead of cooking spicy chicken peanut noodles with veggies, I warmed up a leftover hamburger (no bun!) and green beans from the weekend and served it with leftover rice.

I was hungry towards bedtime and my total calories were low (1120) so I added a Trader Joe’s Light String Cheese to my day for a total of 1180 calories (38% from carbs, 28% from fat, 34% from protein).

The general equation for lunches and dinners:

  • 3-4 oz lean protein
  • 2 cups+ of fresh, low carb veggies (in other words, no corn, no peas, limited carrots)
  • 1/2 cup of high quality carbs (beans, brown rice, brown pasta)

Additionally, I’m trying to ensure I’m having two servings of dairy daily. And I’m definitely taking my multivitamins now–actually, make that a multivitamin, flax seed oil, vitamin D3, vitamin C, calcium.

Doable? Yes. Long term? I hope not. Hungry? Definitely.

More on that hunger issue tomorrow. Also, since I may not be home to weigh in on my normal day (Friday), my weigh in will likely be tomorrow morning.

One response to “Day Two: flexibility achieved

  1. Sounds like you’re eating a super balanced diet – awesome. Good luck with your WI – let us know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

