Heat Wave

This 1,200 calorie diet  might be easier than I thought if Mother Nature and Global Warming continue this knock out, drag down fight. It’s only April yet the temps were in the 80s yesterday with a possible high of 90-something today before cooling off at the end of the week again. It seems like those of us in NJ were just recently bemoaning the onslaught of winter weather and then monsoon rains. Now this.

The heat suppresses my appetite… I ended up skipping morning snack (partly due to late breakfast and fasting for yet another round of bloodwork) and evening snack yesterday. Another bonus side effect from the heat: it makes consuming mass quantities of water REALLY easy, which in turn generates added activity by hourly round trips to the ladies room.

JACKPOT!

Downside: Ice. Cream. Cravings. And in a big way. I saw a student with a Frosty from Wendy’s, a poster for a free water ice program in the student center and a commercial for DQ’s latest Blizzard flavor. I thought about the local creamery and their vanilla bean ice cream with peanut butter swirl. And Coldstone’s banana ice cream with banana and Nilla Wafers or Oreos. Or even a simple McDonald’s ice cream cone.

Fortunately, I was able to detach myself from the physical craving of the ice cream and simply mentally deconstructed it. Yup, that looks good. Plenty of opportunities for that throughout the summer. Don’t feel like going out anyway. Don’t have cash on hand. Too tired to get off the sofa. I don’t really care for that flavor.

My big splurge: the last 10 ounces of diet cream soda that’s been sitting in my fridge for weeks. Enh. Cured the sweet tooth, freed up some space in my fridge, provided a distraction and did what I needed it to do. End craving.

The next big challenge is going to visit family for the weekend. The weekend will include at least one lunch out, a dinner out, a belated Easter dinner and possibly lunch out on Monday’s drive back to my place. And my sister’s Easter Bread. And my mom’s lemon blueberry bread. Possibly my grandmother’s banana walnut chocolate chip cookies and black Russians.

My mother kindly told me that she didn’t think it would be possible to stick to 1,200 calories a day while I’m home. I’m thinking of taking that challenge head on!

The plan: see if Friday’s weigh in will give me the motivation to make uber-good choices throughout the weekend temptations (my weight has been up since last week’s weigh in–not a good sign), pack a sh!tload of raw veggies to snack on, possibly bring my own meal for Saturday’s take-out dinner, drink water like it’s my job, get tons of sleep, stay busy and rely on my sister to kick my @ss on my first outdoor run around our frighteningly hilly neighborhood.

Yesterday’s nutritional stats: 1120 calories * 33% of calories from fat * 30% from protein *37% from carbs. Way too much sodium and processed foods.

BREAKFAST: Starbucks Artisan ham & egg sandwich with iced Americano made with 2oz whole milk

LUNCH: egg white omelet with veggies and ham, rye toast with a tsp of margarine

SNACK: <1/2 ounce of peanuts and a low fat string cheese

DINNER: 2 turkey hot dogs, 1 light wheat hot dog roll, chopped onion & other condiments, mixed green salad with balsamic dressing, tomatoes, hot peppers, green olives and fat free feta.

Today’s nutritional stats: 1222 calories * 18% of calories from fat * 38% from protein *44% from carbs.

BREAKFAST: frittata with Egg Beaters, low fat ham, asparagus, onion, fresh parsley and parmesan, Fiber One English Muffin, 1/2 TBS Smart Balance Light, decaf coffee with half and half

SNACK: 1/2 cup of 1% cottage cheese

LUNCH: 3 oz grilled chicken on large salad of mixed greens, shredded carrot, cucumber, tomato, mushrooms with salsa, steamed broccoli, green beans, 1/2 cup of canned beets, 1 slice of light wheat toast, 1 square of chocolate

SNACK: smoothie made with 1/2 cup of fat free Greek yogurt, <1/2 scoop of The Biggest Loser Whey protein powder (gasp! the last of it!), 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze and ice cubes

DINNER: 5 oz. baked halibut, lemony cauliflower, olives and chick peas

4 responses to “Heat Wave

  1. Way to show that ice cream who is boss!

  2. That’s an impressive resistance to that ice cream craving. Frozen yogurt calls to me, and since it’s not as bad as ice cream (depending on toppings, of course), I sometimes give in. But…only if I ride my bike or walk to the shop. A good way to get my treat craving satisfied, but also to get in some activity.

    Enjoy that beautiful weather.

  3. Good for you not giving into your cravings! Half the time they aren’t even worth it.. especially with ice cream! I think I’m making good choices and then I come home and track and it’s still so high calorie!

  4. @Bella: Sadly, I can’t think of any ice cream places that are within walking or biking distance! That’s a great idea.

    @Ashleigh: Seriously! I had a California roll made with brown rice for lunch, instead of a planned roast beef sandwich on light wheat bread. It turns out the California roll was higher in calories!

Leave a Reply

