RECIPE: Cauliflower with white beans and olives

Sunday, when I was planning my meals for the week, I came across a recipe I desperately wanted to try: cauliflower with chick peas and olives. It sounded quite flavorful and seemed as if it would go well with the halibut I planned on making. Of course, sure enough, I forgot where I saw the recipe–it could have been in any number of magazines sitting on my coffee table or one of the clippings sitting in a pile waiting to be filed or it could have been in one of my many cookbooks or foodie blogs.

Needless to say, I’ve had a large head of cauliflower sitting around all week, so I needed to make something with it. I didn’t know the ingredients I needed (aside from the obvious) and couldn’t even remember how to cook it (roasting? stove top? good ole microwave?). As another indicator of my occasional flightiness (I blame the low-carb diet and lack of ICE CREAM), I purchased cannellini beans instead of chick peas this week. Hey–they’re both white and beany! I wasn’t about to go back to the store.

End result: I tossed a bunch of things that I thought might taste good together in a casserole dish and tossed it in the microwave til the cauliflower was barely fork tender. Amazing! Here’s the recipe.

INGREDIENTS

  • Half a head of cauliflower, cut into bite-sized florets
  • 1 cup of canned canellini beans
  • 3 TBS chopped green olives
  • 3 TBS chopped fresh parsley
  • a splash of lemon juice
  • a splash of reduced sodium broth (chicken or vegetable)
  • salt and pepper to taste

It doesn’t get easier than this: toss everything together in a casserole dish. Microwave for about 6-8 minutes, mixing about halfway though. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Makes 2 generous servings.

It goes well with the halibut I grilled tonight and tomorrow I’m having the leftovers with chicken.

One response to “RECIPE: Cauliflower with white beans and olives

  1. That sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

